Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fury of Dracula (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: The End Result...can anyone clarify. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a game tonight we had the following.

In one location there were 2 minion encounters and Dracula. The second minion was there due to an earlier hide.


The combat with the first minion produced an END result.

In my reading of the rules (and FAQ) we had to then settle the 2nd minion encounter.


In this one the minion was killed.


This allowed the hunter to go on to battle Dracula.


If the 2 encounters were reversed (getting the end result on the 2nd minion), Dracula would not have had to fight.


Does this make sense to anyone?

Thanks,

Lance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played incorrectly. An "end" result means no more encounters or Dracula.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose that is the result I would have wished for (since I was Dracula) but the rules are woefully imprecise on this.

All they say for the END result is that the "combat" ends immediately.
And yet on page 14 under "If there are encounters" we find:

If there are any more encounters at the location (and the first encounter did not end the hunter's turn), Dracula then chooses a new encounter and resolves it.

So one talks of COMBAT ending.
One talks of a TURN ending.

And since certain encounters DO specifically speak of ending TURNS....I still think my original sequence is correct. I would love to hear any information--perhaps backed up by something from the rules.

Thanks,

Lance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See page 18, under "Battling to Reach Dracula"...

"...However, if the Hunter is defeated or (the combat finishes with an End result), his turn is over and he cannot face Dracula that turn."

So it doesn't matter which minion battle produced an "End" result, because that clearly ends the Hunter's turn.

I hope this clears things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mb
The above posteres are correct. When you get an End result, the Hunters turn is over immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well hopefully you guys see the lack of clarity.

What you seem to be saying is:

End Result in Combat = End of Hunter's Turn

If so, it would have been so much easier to have said that instead of "end of combat" as the rules currently do.

So in the above example we should have never played the 2nd encounter (much less the battle with Dracula).

Thanks,

Lance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.