Emmanouil Karakostas
Greece
Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello pathfinders!
I recently dug up , my Rise of the Runelords campaign, and started all over with a party of 2.
I already own Pirates, and Demons also. Love this game.

I have a major big question:

Can i SAFELY asume that Before the Encounter, and After the Encounter , phrases in monsters , barriers, and everything, can be replaced by the newly introduced, Before you Act and After you Act?

meaning that Evades happen before, and checks after that?

What happens with the phrase "When you Encounter", that is in many locations and powers in Rise of the Runelords. Is it the first moment you act, so like before you Act? or is it just by opening and flipping the card?

I know it is a big question, and i would appreciate any answers!

Thanks!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can replace the phrase "before the encounter" with "before you act" and "after the encounter" with "after you act". See this comment.

"When you encounter" is the first thing that occurs. It occurs prior to evading. Here is the RotR Encounter order:

RotR Encountering a Card wrote:
Evade the card (optional).
Apply any effects that happen before the encounter, if needed.
Attempt the check.
Attempt the next check, if needed.
Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed.
Resolve the encounter.


And here is the WotR one:

WotR Encountering a Card wrote:
Apply any effects that happen when you encounter a card.
Apply any evasion effects.
Apply any effects that happen before you act.
Attempt the check.
Attempt the next check, if needed.
Apply any effects that happen after you act.
Resolve the encounter.


If we take the WotR one and add in the "before the encounter" and "after the encounter" stuff to the same line based on that comment by Vic, we get this order:

1. Apply effects that happen when you encounter a card. (BotG, Shrine to Lamashtu)
2. Apply any evasion effects.
3. Apply effects that happen before you act (RotR: before the encounter).
4. Attempt the check.
5. Attempt the next check, if needed.
6. Apply effects that happen after you act (RotR: after the encounter).
7. Resolve the encounter.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Bjork

Virginia
msg tools
Avatar
OK, so now I'm confused.

I'm playing a solo game with Merisiel the rogue, and she encounters a Scout who has this:

"Before the encounter, the Scout deals 1d4-1 Ranged combat damage to you."

So, can Merisiel evade BEFORE the scout inflicts damage (as implied in the base set rules), or have the rules been nerfed such that she must take the Scout's ranged damage before she can evade (and avoid the full check)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Before the encounter" is a term found only in RotR. It comes after the opportunity to evade. Note the order above:

1. Apply effects that happen when you encounter a card. (BotG, Shrine to Lamashtu)
2. Apply any evasion effects. Merisiel can evade here
3. Apply effects that happen before you act (RotR: before the encounter). The Scout deals 1d4-1 Ranged Combat damage to you here
4. Attempt the check.
5. Attempt the next check, if needed.
6. Apply effects that happen after you act (RotR: after the encounter).
7. Resolve the encounter.

So, Merisiel has evaded the Scout before he can damage her.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Bjork

Virginia
msg tools
Avatar
Thank you. This clears it up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.