Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fury of Dracula (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you remove encounter after "Newspaper Reports card?" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dracula had set an encounter in Berlin (his starting city). On ROUND TWO this card was drawn (yeah, Drac's screwed!) and Berlin was revealed. Does this remove the Encounter on it or does it stay?

On a similar note, the city Dracula is in has an encounter on it... Van Helsing has entered the city... does he have to fight the Encounter... and THEN the Count? Or does the Encounter not (pardon the pun) count, and he must immediately combat Dracula?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronster Zero
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1st Question:
Unless the card says to reveal both location and encounter then only the location is revealed and the encounter remains hidden.

2nd:
if any hunter enters a space he must first deal with any encounter before dealing with Dracula. If the encounter ends the hunters turn in any way, then the hunter cannot attack the count that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew W.
United States
Monessen
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Taoist, Pittsburgh Sports fan, and welcoming to people who are kind, from any walk of life.
badge
I have been playing games since the Atari 2600, Candy Land, Chuttes and Ladders, Go Fish, & the Apple ii. Supporting "the Geek" since 2006
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dracula's starting city has no encounter on it whatsoever. Encounters are placed only after the first round by the hunters.

Locations are only revealed by Newspaper Reports, not encounters, but if encounters are ever revealed by another event, those encounters always stick around faceup on the location until a hunter walks into that location and triggers the encounter. They are merely face up, so the surprise is eliminated, and you know that an encounter near the end of the trail may or may not need your attention, depending if it is an encounter that may mature or not. the Forewarned event is the only thing that comes to mind that actually ditches encounters.

If the city that Dracula is occupying has an encounter on it (and by golly it should for the first hunter that stumbles onto the Count), the encounter is resolved first, and if after that resolution the encounter did not end the turn (as fog or bats do for example), Dracula has at what's left of the hunter after the encounter hits them. Dracula employs shock troops and guerrilla tactics, that hidey fink.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.