Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Valley of the Kings: Afterlife» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barbapapa Barbapou
msg tools
mbmbmb
Hello,

When we say "Duplicate set cards in your tomb count against you,

what do that mean?

thank you

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Beaumont
United States
Ann Arbor
MI
flag msg tools
I have a Carcassonne Hunters and Gatherers tile tattoo !
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There is two of each distinct set card. (Purple are not set cards)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barbapapa Barbapou
msg tools
mbmbmb
windfarms wrote:
There is two of each distinct set card. (Purple are not set cards)

Hello,

I know that but why that count against me? (in Solo Game)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Austin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had the same question. I assume that it means that if you had five of a set, but two of them were duplicates, then they would cancel each other out and it would score as if you only had three of the set. But that was just how I played it.

While it probably doesn't matter that much as no matter how you interpret this, it means you didn't get a perfect score anyway .
I would still be curious for an official answer to this as well.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mb
I guess the idea is that, since you're playing alone and no one else is buying cards, you will have the ability to easily collect both copies of each card. The other option is to use Shabti to sacrifice the doubles in order to get them out of the pyramid, which this solo rule encourages. If you can't, or don't want to do that, then you'll have to buy them. Unlike in a multiplayer game, entombing these unnecessary cards near the end of the game is not a good option.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Cleaver
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Barbapapa2014 wrote:
Hello,

When we say "Duplicate set cards in your tomb count against you,

what do that mean?

thank you

Barbapapa,
If you have (say) two Axes in your tomb, you don't get to count any Axes in your score.

Tom Cleaver
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.