Popular Tags: [View All]
Fraser Anderson
Germany
Ammerbuch-Entringen
Baden-Wurttemburg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I just picked up the Champions of Kellos Expansion and I will share my thoughts on it. I am a newbie as far as reviews go, so please be kind when you read this.

Contents:

Champions of Kellos is a 30 card expansion to the Runebound game platform, containing 18 new Item cards and 12 new Allies. It is playable with the 2nd edition of the game.

Construction and artwork on the cards is consistent with the rest of Runebound. In general I wish all the cards were white bordered instead of black so that they would not show their age as quickly.

The Items:
Although there are 18 cards, there are only actually 15 new items. Where I indicate, there are doubles of specific items:

Bow of fire x2 (6) - This is a mediocre weapon, although neat in that there are two ways to use it. You can activate it after a ranged attack to add 1 damage, or activate before the ranged attack, dealing 1 damage (ouch hot!) to your hero and then 2 extra to the target.

Sword of Fire x2 (8) - similar to the bow in terms of activation. ignite this baby after a melee for +2, or before for +1 damage to you, +2 to enemy.

Shield of Fire (4) - yet another fire product. activate to cancel 1 damage any time, or in melee, cancel up to 2 damage on hero and inflict 2 on enemy.

Mantel of Fire (2) activate and take 1 fatigue to cancel 1 damage on hero. In Melee or Magic, activate and take 1 fatigue before making attack roll. Success adds +1 damage.

Healing Salve x2 (2) - Always handy to have health recuperating abilities, cheap cost and can be discarded to heal 3 to hero or ally, who must pay the amount healed in fatigue.

Sword and Shield (6) - Hero gets +2 to combat rolls while defending, and can be discarded after a successful melee for +2. I think it is more useful on defense since it is not discarded. Must not be the most durable of swords.