Jasper Elbers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
We had a discussion in our game last week about a Greyjoy attack at Highgarden. This was the situation:

The game is in the first round.

Greyjoy attacked from Pyke with his knight +0 march to Highgarden.
Highgarden has a special consolidate powertoken.
Support from the Reach got raided by Martell and in Oldtown was a march +1 token (Tyrell player explained this as a counter attack possibility).

Greyjoy strength: knight 2 + Asha Greyjoy 2 = 4
Tyrell strength: footman 1 + garrison 2 + Margery Tyrell 0 = 3

Asha Greyjoy has one fortification icon
Margery says: If you are defending your home area, or an area containing one of your power tokens, your opponents final combat strength is 2.

So now Greyjoy has a CS of 2 and Tyrell of 3. Can greyjoy still play his VSB? Our group was mixed in this. Some players said he could not because Margery's card says final combat strength. I say, you always use the blade after the cards so its possible.

What do you think?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markús Ingólfsson
Iceland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say He can use it but it will have no effect.

The card ability is this:

Greyjoy has knight and Asha =4
He uses sword = 1+4 =5

Final combat strenght 5.

Margery card comes in and changes it to 2.

This is the way I see the order of sequence. Margery is a very powerful defensive card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Final means final
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amin
Canada
flag msg tools
http://podcastoficeandfire.com/
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/867434/final-combat-strength
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jasper Elbers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Bugger.. The b*tch is strong then..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.