Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Fleet Commander: 1 – Ignition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shields, multiple directions ambiguity in English rules. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule: "it is possible to play several results of shield dice throw [sic] to block attacks from several squares during a combined attack'.

Surely only two, right? Far as I can tell, you can only store two shields. How could you block attacks from more than two directions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Larouche
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
Melting souls with cuteness since 2007
badge
Lovin' N-16
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrMT wrote:
Rule: "it is possible to play several results of shield dice throw [sic] to block attacks from several squares during a combined attack'.

Surely only two, right? Far as I can tell, you can only store two shields. How could you block attacks from more than two directions?


Yep, you can only store two shields, hence block attacks twice.

This is why combined attacks are so powerful as they drain shields very quickly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thank you.

I understand that this is left open for potential new abilities.

So, to be clear, each shield (and you have two) can defend one attack from one direction.

EXAMPLE:

Let's say player A has three separate groups of ships adjacent to an enemy ship (player B), one orthogonal and two diagonal. He rolls two attacks, one orthogonal and one diagonal. The defending ship (player B) has two shields, one orthogonal and one diagonal.

Player B defends against one (and one only) orthogonal attack, and one (and one only) diagonal.

Thus, for the first attack die, the defender (player B) staves off one orthogonal and one diagonal group attack, thus one diagonal hits. For the second attack die, they all hit.

Correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Steenebruggen
France
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmb
It's perfectly correct !

Let's have the same example but with a slight difference with the shields.

If player B has 2 diagonal shields, he could use his first shield die to block one diagonal attack from the first attack, and his second diagonal shield die to block the same diagonal sector, but from the second attack.

This could be very helpful when you have significative different fire powers in each sector ; 1 frigate in a sector (A), 1 battleship + 1 frigate in another one (B), so that you will prefer to block attacks from one sector (B) rather than another one (A).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Steenebruggen
France
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmb
jwreschnig wrote:
It's pretty easy to imagine a new special ability or variant player board that lets you store more than two dice, or that lets you use one shield to block two attacks, or a field that lets you roll an automatic shield, or etc. The generality means these are covered if they ever happen.


It's pretty easy to imagine this in a close future, with special battleships or leaders ability... Wait and see ....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dolch Jokke
msg tools
With the new class 3 ship, you can use any shield-dice against every direction. So its possible to use your special result to defend
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.