Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

1830: Railways & Robber Barons» Forums » Rules

Subject: unforced Train purchase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are not forced to buy a train (no route), can you buy the train anyway if the only way to do it is to spend your personal money? Think Erie who wants to buy a D and then run it next turn when it builds the connecting track.

This is actually happening in 1856, but I think the rules are identical regarding this issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
No. Emergency train purchases only happen because of the combination of a route and no train. No route == no emergency train purchase == no presidential contribution.

This can happen with a CanPac suitcase when the CStL has been used to place a non-route and the CanPac doesn't have the $80 needed to place its first tile. Or the Erie as you describe.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.