Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kalle Marjola
Finland
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is like an educative story for fresh Power Grid players, like I was during that time, with only two games played before.

There was 5 of us playing, with one total newbie, with me for my third game, and 3 old gamers. We played the U.S. map, with everyone on East Coast.

So, we ended up by having 6 cities each and with a power plant blockade - the very common situation in which the only players practically able to extend to 7+ cities did not have good power plants and everything in the market was crap. Thus, if they build a new city, starting the step 2 next turn, others expand first and they would not even have power plants to use the remaining ones. So, they thought that moving to step 2 was not for their best interest.

Thus the game has frozen, no one buying anything and just making more money. Naturally there was that one-plant-per-turn removal, but that is quite slow and everyone just got richer and richer.

Finally the step 3 emerged and then everyone just built the board full. Naturally the winner was the player with highest capacity.

But the moral of this story is: like others, I only had 6 cities. I also had highest numbered power plant so I was also forced to be the first in the turn order every turn. My other plants sucked and I only had total capacity of 7.
So, my situation looked grim but I was in Miami area so it was hugely expensive for me to go for the 7th city.