Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Surge and strain recovery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the rebel need to cause damage to be able to use a surge to recover one strain?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Henry
United Kingdom
Wellington
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
No, only abilities that inflict conditions need to cause damage to be used as surges.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, they do not need to cause the target to suffer damage. Only Blast, Cleave and Condition-based keywords require damage to be done to have an effect. Other abilities, unless they specifically state that damage must be suffered, are resolvable.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As said above, recover (whether the innate hero ability or an ability from the deployment card) and some other abilities (gaining movement points from Imperial Industry comes to mind) do not require that the target suffered damage from the attack.

AFAIK, techically you can trigger all surge abilities during the spend surges step. It would of course be a waste to trigger conditions, Blast and Cleave if the target does not suffer any damage, because then those will not be assigned and/or resolved after the attack.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonia
Germany
Wolfsburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can even spend a surge to recover strain when you missed.
Either because of insufficient range or a dodge result.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.