Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Smith
Canada
Langley
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the mess (1st time posting and accidentally posted under variants).

I've been playing Cyclades (base game) for a few months and really enjoying it. Last night we played with the Titans expanion and 3 players and it just didn't feel as tight. It seemed like there was too much room on the island and too many prosperity trade routes on the edge. It seems like the predominant stategy was to take Apollo on the first turn (setup gaining 1 prosperity and 1 GP) and take Poseidon as soon as possible. Now because you took Apollo to begin you likely have more money than the other players and can both outbid and take 1-3 of the ocean trade route prosperity areas. Once taken you can leave them relatively undefended and have a significant cash advantage, because in the 3 player version it is now possible for a god to never appear or appear much less (with the shuffle the 3 face down gods and place too face up mechanic).

I feel like I must be missing something, but I'm not sure what. A couple areas I might have wrong, but I don' think so are:

1) Setup in Titans. Once you select your starting setup god, do you
a) place your two troops and 2 fleets plus additional benefits and move on to next player and reshuffle the gods at the end of the round (we played this way),
b) place your troops and fleets and additional benefits and then take a turn with actions for the god you won (ie. can purchase, move, etc).
c) place your troops and fleets and additional benefits and move onto the next player, but do not shuffle the gods for the beginning of the next round.

2) Troop/Fleet movement. We played that troop/fleet movement always cost 1GP (should it be 1Gp, then 2Gp, then 3GP, etc, like Titans?)