Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Band of Brothers: Screaming Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding op fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Barney
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
If a unit conducts op fire, are they then marked as used so that they cannot move or fire on their turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Mann
United States
Fontana
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Curse your sudden but inevitable action denial!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Barney
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Ok thanks. Can they op fire at multiple units? For example if a German is marked as op fire and the Americans advance 3 units, can the German fire at all 3 if they come within his LOS?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aswin Agastya
Indonesia
Bekasi
Jawa Barat
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, no. The American would move 1 at a time, so the German unit can choose which unit it want to react to.

For example, when the first American unit comes into its LoS, the German unit perform an OpFire. The OpFire marker is removed, and it's marked as Used.

Now, the German unit cannot fire at other American units coming into its LoS except if:
1. The German player used a CP to do a long distance Final OpFire.
2. The American units move to a hex adjacent to the used German unit, so the German unit may perform a Final OpFire.

But this is for infantry. I think for vehicle there are more limitations.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Barney
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Great. That answers my question. Thanks so much for the help. Just got the game today and I'm trying to figure out all of the nuances.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Barney
United States
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Let's say a German unit has not been marked Op fire. During the American's movement, a unit moves out of a building 3 hexes away from the German unit. The German declares he wants to Op fire, but fails the proficiency roll. The American unit moves another hex closer to the German unit. Can the same German unit roll for op fire again since he failed a proficiency roll the first time?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Mann
United States
Fontana
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Curse your sudden but inevitable action denial!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes in original Screaming Eagles rules. No in the newer Ghost Panzer rule set, because there is no longer a separate proficiency roll.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aswin Agastya
Indonesia
Bekasi
Jawa Barat
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
p4warrior wrote:
Yes in original Screaming Eagles rules. No in the newer Ghost Panzer rule set, because there is no longer a separate proficiency roll.


When Kyle said no, he meant there's no need to roll, but you can still OpFire. Just make a fire roll straight away using the unit's Proficiency Firepower. (in Ghost Panzer's revised rules)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Mann
United States
Fontana
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Curse your sudden but inevitable action denial!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sevej wrote:
p4warrior wrote:
Yes in original Screaming Eagles rules. No in the newer Ghost Panzer rule set, because there is no longer a separate proficiency roll.


When Kyle said no, he meant there's no need to roll, but you can still OpFire. Just make a fire roll straight away using the unit's Proficiency Firepower. (in Ghost Panzer's revised rules)

Right, but he's asking if they miss (or hit but the unit continues moving), can the unit Op Fire again in the next hex. The answer is no in Ghost Panzer (since they'll be marked used).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aswin Agastya
Indonesia
Bekasi
Jawa Barat
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
p4warrior wrote:
Sevej wrote:
p4warrior wrote:
Yes in original Screaming Eagles rules. No in the newer Ghost Panzer rule set, because there is no longer a separate proficiency roll.


When Kyle said no, he meant there's no need to roll, but you can still OpFire. Just make a fire roll straight away using the unit's Proficiency Firepower. (in Ghost Panzer's revised rules)

Right, but he's asking if they miss (or hit but the unit continues moving), can the unit Op Fire again in the next hex. The answer is no in Ghost Panzer (since they'll be marked used).


Oh, you're right. I misread the question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.