Cargo Cultist
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm playing a solo game against Syzigy and I'm in a confusing endgame situation.

Silas has picked a Sealing the Portal card and if he solves it and places a clue on the AO sheet the game is won. He has rolled and succeeded in the various tasks but now he is asked to optionally spend 3 health and 3 sanity to place a clue on the AO sheet, or resolve the fail effect.

He currently has 6 health and 2 sanity. So is it:

A) he spends what sanity he has, effectively going mad, but the game is won.
B) he resolves the fail effect

I am going to go for B because A seems a bit cheesy, but I wonder if there id an actual rule for these cases?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B) Resolve the fail effect.


Reference guide, "Health and Sanity", last bullet point— you can't spend health or sanity that would take you to 0 or below.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cargo Cultist
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thanks
P.S. I won anyway! I love the new AO.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the card says "lose" you lose as much as you can.
If the card says "spend" you can't spend something you don't have.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Charlton
United Kingdom
East Barnet
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
www.finchleygamesclub.org
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haroth9842 wrote:
If the card says "lose" you lose as much as you can.
If the card says "spend" you can't spend something you don't have.


You also can't "spend" your last point in health or sanity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RandomGraham wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
If the card says "lose" you lose as much as you can.
If the card says "spend" you can't spend something you don't have.


You also can't "spend" your last point in health or sanity.

Really? I don't have rules on my hand, and spending your last shreds of sanity to close the portal seems legitimate, so I would be disappointed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haroth9842 wrote:
RandomGraham wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
If the card says "lose" you lose as much as you can.
If the card says "spend" you can't spend something you don't have.


You also can't "spend" your last point in health or sanity.

Really? I don't have rules on my hand, and spending your last shreds of sanity to close the portal seems legitimate, so I would be disappointed.
In my games this would very much depend upon what effect you were triggering by sacrificing yourself. Essentially, if the effect requires you to be around for it work (bad example, but e.g. Blessing yourself) then I would rule against. However, if the effect was "instantaneous" (e.g. some form of banishment of a Monster) then I have no problem with an Investigator making the ultimate sacrifice. But then I'm an Arkham Horror player of old.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
haroth9842 wrote:
RandomGraham wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
If the card says "lose" you lose as much as you can.
If the card says "spend" you can't spend something you don't have.


You also can't "spend" your last point in health or sanity.

Really? I don't have rules on my hand, and spending your last shreds of sanity to close the portal seems legitimate, so I would be disappointed.



Xelto just mentioned the actual rule.

Edit:
Here's the exact wording:
"An investigator cannot spend Health or Sanity if doing so would
cause him to be defeated (i.e., he cannot spend his last Health or
Sanity)."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.