Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Cannot" vs. "Forced" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Thomson
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
badge
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pilot Darth Vader is piloting a vehicle participating in an engagement. Does his ability prevent Forced Reactions from being initiated? For example, the Speeder Bike would not have to be destroyed if it was participating in the engagement with Vader and the LS lost the edge battle.

I am 99.9% sure that "cannot" takes precedence over "Forced", but I raise the question because I found it interesting and thought others might benefit from the discussion.

(Also, there's still that 0.1% of doubt lingering in the back of my mind, and I hate that. Make it go away please.)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Russell
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, "cannot" takes precedence over Forced.

Ruling from Erik Dahlman (lead developer for Star Wars LCG), with specific reference to Forced reactions/interrupts:
http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/5916-offic...

Another rules thread dedicated to pilot Vader and what his ability does and doesn't stop:
http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/26853-dart...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kārlis Jēriņš
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
I'm a sheep.
badge
A lovely, fluffy sheep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For complete clarity - in all cases, not just Vader, cannot takes priority over all competing effects regardless of their wording or meaning.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.