Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Steam» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are builds simultaneous? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Linsey
United States
Hudson
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Suppose I want to build track from a city to a town two hexes away. Someone has already built into the town; I have to upgrade the town tile to build in. The problem: I can't build the in-between hex first, because my track would then (for the moment) end abruptly at the edge of the town hex. And I can't build the town hex first, because it's not connected to my track yet. So my question is: are builds considered simultaneous? Can I build both sections at once since the end result is a legal track, or do they have to be done in sequence, thereby making building this link impossible?

We played that they're considered simultaneous.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess you could say that the builds are simultaneous. All that really matters is that the board state at the end of your build phase is valid.

Also, you are allowed to build track that doesn't go anywhere (e.g. butted up against a town tile without a connection). You can do this to partially build a link on one turn and finish building it on the next turn, especially for links that are 4 or more tiles long.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruce Linsey wrote:
I can't build the in-between hex first, because my track would then (for the moment) end abruptly at the edge of the town hex.

The answer is that you build the in-between hex first and there is nothing wrong with ending abruptly at the edge of the town hex.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like every other phase, builds are done in turn order. Except, of course, First Builder builds first.

But what makes you think you can't build next to the town hex? Many people new to the game think that is the case -- you're definitely not alone! -- but I don't see anything in the rules that suggest it so I'm just curious.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Linsey
United States
Hudson
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
snoozefest wrote:
Like every other phase, builds are done in turn order. Except, of course, First Builder builds first.

But what makes you think you can't build next to the town hex? Many people new to the game think that is the case -- you're definitely not alone! -- but I don't see anything in the rules that suggest it so I'm just curious.


Re your first paragraph, I was asking whether the builds of a single player during one turn can be considered simultaneous; not the builds of different players. Effectively, I guess, the answer is yes. If at the end of his turn the track placement is legal, then the turn is legal (according to the other replies here).

The rules under "Build Track" say "When you build track, the tiles must line up so that the ends match and the track forms a continuous line (until it reaches another town or a city)." So I thought it would be illegal to place a tile with track ending abruptly at a town hex tile that doesn't have track exiting on the adjoining side, but I guess the ("until…") clause makes it all right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruce Linsey wrote:
snoozefest wrote:
Like every other phase, builds are done in turn order. Except, of course, First Builder builds first.

But what makes you think you can't build next to the town hex? Many people new to the game think that is the case -- you're definitely not alone! -- but I don't see anything in the rules that suggest it so I'm just curious.


Re your first paragraph, I was asking whether the builds of a single player during one turn can be considered simultaneous; not the builds of different players. Effectively, I guess, the answer is yes. If at the end of his turn the track placement is legal, then the turn is legal (according to the other replies here).

The rules under "Build Track" say "When you build track, the tiles must line up so that the ends match and the track forms a continuous line (until it reaches another town or a city)." So I thought it would be illegal to place a tile with track ending abruptly at a town hex tile that doesn't have track exiting on the adjoining side, but I guess the ("until…") clause makes it all right.

Ah, got it!

OK, so for paragraph 1: you place each tile one by one, and each tile must be legal. In practice I'm not sure it actually matters, but I think it's simplest if you just enforce the build rules with every track tile placement. I think the problem isn't one of timing (checking during the turn vs. end of the turn), but of understanding the build rules as evidenced by ...

Paragraph 2: I guess the confusion is because (it seems) you're assuming that the town fills the entire hex whereas I am looking at the actual gray circle on the board and seeing that it does not. So when I read that track must go "until it reaches another town or a city", I expect it to go to the little gray circle, and not to the edge of the hex. Cities are different because they're big; they do fill up the entire hex, so track connects to a city by going to the hex (and therefore city) edge. Building to the edge of the town's hex is no different than building to any hex edge ... it's just the front of the line of track your little builders are working on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.