Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam P
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
I kickstarted this game, because the rules and gameplay looked great, but I regret backing it on HOW MUCH it cost when looking at these components for the first time.

The stickers for the tiles don't bother me, although it's a little tacky.

The box doesn't bother me, it's one of those slide on/off covers with cheap cardboard stock for the base.

It's the board!
The main centerpiece of the game is a thin, single fold piece of cardboard. It doesn't even lay flat unless you break the spine. The edges are not taped, so after repeated plays, the edges will get worn quickly. For the price I paid on kickstarter, this is a disappointment. I'd rather sacrifice the insert to get a better board.

I don't know if I can recommend this game for the price point (~$40 USD). There are too many other games out on the market, competing for player time.

This is my first time with Columbia Games, so if this is the expected quality, please let me know and I'll reserve any future judgments. I will note they did deliver on time and did give good communication throughout the kickstarter.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nevin Ball
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
That tickles!
mbmbmbmbmb
This game is from Columbia Games, not GMT. Cardboard or paper maps are standard for wargame companies of which Columbia is one. Was the KS campaign specific as to what type of map? With the exception of Crusader Rex, 2nd edition which has a mounted map, all of their maps are cardboard.

GMT is producing more games with mounted maps and will specify that in their game description. With that said, Columbia is a small family business that have been producing outstanding games for years. They are known for their block wargamers (and yes you have to sticker them). Games like Hammer of the Scots and Julius Caesar are among my favorites and highly rated here on BGG.

Happy Gaming!