Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pit Exit Gear? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
RicharDISNEY
United States
Rescue
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe ya'll can help me out. A few sessions ago, we got into a discussion over the rules of what gear you can exit out of the pit lane from.

I see in the rules that you can leave the pits in 4th gear.

But can you leave the pits in a lower gear than 4th? Say 3rd or 2nd?

We ended up saying "yes", but in the book, it does not specifically state that.

What do you all think?

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oh you seekers of the new who run terrified from history into the clutches of an eternal life where no electric shaver can be built to last.
United States
Riva
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb

    I'd argue you can. No reason you couldn't. Can't quote a rule that says that though.

             S.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Jones
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
Yeah it's here! Really it's right here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We always took the 'can' to mean 'up to', but I'm more of a De' player then D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Keane
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Checking v1.3 rules:
Standard rules:
Quick stop - "...to find the number of spaces the car MAY move when leaving the pit in 4th gear."
Slow stop - "then moves off in 4th gear or lower."

Advanced rules:
Technical Pit Stop - "may not start in higher than 4th gear."

We play that for a quick stop, you always immediately leave the pits in 4th gear, but do not have to move the full half-number rolled on the d20 (i.e. you don't have to use brakes if you are blocked). For slow stops and technical stops, next turn you can choose to leave in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th gear. We also allow that for slow stops and technical stops you do not have to move the full number rolled, although the rules don't specify this. You already lost a turn just because you rolled high on the d20 - why punish you further by forcing you to use up brakes?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hoyt
United States
East Liverpool
Ohio
flag msg tools
ボルトン
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Agree'd "up to" 4th gear ....

~Will
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.