Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leader movement bonus? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kurt Rompot
United States
Davidson
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While the unit is physically in the same hex with the leader, its movement value will be increased by the leader's command rating. This could give it enough movement points to enter another hex (without the leader). But then the unit would immediately lose the benefit and be reduced to its normal movement value. So that is why they say it is only beneficial when the leader is in the next to last hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Luub
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, yes, but to make it more clear (hopefully):

Each time you want to move a unit from one hex to the next, you determine the unit's current movement rating. You subtract from that the number of movement points it has already spent during its movement. If the number remaining is at least as many as are required to move into the next hex, then it can.

So the thing that is confusing is that the current movement rating of the unit can change as it moves from hex to hex (possibly because it moves into a hex with a leader, because it becomes broken, because it moved into a road hex, or maybe for some other reason).

The simplest example is if you have a broken unit with a current movement of 1. He is alone in a hex. You activate him for movement. He moves into an adjacent hex (which is a clear hex with no fences or anything) which contains a leader with a command rating of 1. The unit's current movement is now 2. He has only used 1 movement point so far, so he can now move into a second hex (as long as that move takes only 1 movement point). Say he moves into another clear hex, this time a hex with no leader. Now his current movement is 1, and he has spent two movement points so far. That means he has -1 movement points remaining, which isn't enough to move anywhere. So he's done.

You can see that this would work the same way if the first hex he moved into had a road, instead of a leader.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In your example, the broken unit has the MPs to get into the next hex while it is with the Leader, so it moves into and occupies the next hex. NOW calculate it's MPs and subract how much it has moved. If it has any MPs and has enough to move into another hex, it may, and the process repeats. (Though in your example it would leave the Leader's hex and stop since its MPs would be at -1.

...BTW, the rules suggest that the active player should state the total the MPs expended for a unit as he is moving it. It may go something like:

"Alright, my Leader is activiating this group of units. Okay, first I'm moving this squad. It has 4 MPs available to it. Stop me when you want to shoot at it. ...It's 1 to enter the Clear hex. Now 3 to enter the Woods hex. And I'm ending his move, 4, in this Clear hex. No shots? Fine, now I'll move the second squad..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pathirtle wrote:
Okay, but assume that the broken unit moved into a hex with a leader with a command rating of 2. The unit now has a current movement factor of 2


No. It has a current movement rating of 3 MP (1 base, +2 for leader). It has expended 1 MP so far. Thus, it can move an additional hex as long as the cost to enter that new hex is no more than 2 MP (3 minus 1).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Ingram
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pathirtle wrote:


[brain implodes]

Is there any difference between having a current movement rating of 2 and having a current movement rating of 3 with 1 MP expended?


Hi Pat,

From a gameplay point of view there isn't but I'm sure the rules lawyers will have something to say about it... [wink]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Harrisburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Is there any difference between having a current movement rating of 2 and having a current movement rating of 3 with 1 MP expended?


Yes.

The unit with a current 2 MP rating, after having used 1 MP, may only enter hexes with MP cost of 1.
The unit a current 3 MP rating, after having used 1 MP, may enter hexes with 2 MP cost or less.

After leaving the hex, if the current MP rating drops (due to no longer being stacked with a leader) so that the unit has expended at least as many MP as (or more than) its current MP rating, it must stop.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Ingram
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rri1 wrote:
Quote:
Is there any difference between having a current movement rating of 2 and having a current movement rating of 3 with 1 MP expended?


Yes.

The unit with a current 2 MP rating, after having used 1 MP, may only enter hexes with MP cost of 1.
The unit a current 3 MP rating, after having used 1 MP, may enter hexes with 2 MP cost or less.



Richard,

That's not what Pat asked [my emphasis].
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pathirtle wrote:
Is there any difference between having a current movement rating of 2 and having a current movement rating of 3 with 1 MP expended?


There's no difference except that the latter matches how the rules are written, while the former way of thinking about movement is inconsistent with the rules and will lead to confusion. If you try to think about movement in terms of "how many MPs remaining", then that is more complicated, because that number can go up (when you enter a hex with a friendly leader) as well as down (when you expend MPs, or when you exit a hex with a friendly leader). You're going to find it easier to play the game if you just follow the system as written in the rules, rather than try to find a different but equivalent way to think about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.