The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Age of Napoleon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discarding key cards in strategy phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Marshall
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Renaud

I’ve been soloing the game using the V2 rules to get them right in my head as I have a face to face game scheduled for the week after next in which I’ll be teaching the game to my opponent.

I have a query regarding the new rule 2.3.12 which allows you to pick up some of the key cards should one of them be discarded by his opponent, in exchange for a card from your hand.

I think this is a good change in that the Coalition player’s chances of success are influenced by how soon in the game he is able to play these cards. I’m guessing the intention behind this change is to restrict the chances of a runaway French victory caused in part by the Coalition player not accessing his key cards.

Bearing this in mind, what happens if the French player discards (say) the Continental System card in the strategy phase after retaining it (unplayed) throughout the previous year? I can see two options:

1. The Coalition player can’t pick up Continental System as at the time he doesn’t have any cards of his own (as he is also discarding his hand to zero prior to refilling it)

2. The Coalition player may exchange one of his freshly drawn cards for the Continental System card lying at (or near) the top of the discard pile.

This could affect the French strategy, i.e. is hanging onto a valuable Coalition card to discard it to the discard pile at the start of the strategy phase (knowing that the Coalition player won’t be able to pick it up immediately) a viable option for Napoleon?

Of course, the opposite would apply to a Coalition player who draws Territorial Concessions as part of his card hand.

Thanks in advance,

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renaud Verlaque
United States
Shelter Island Heights
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Jim Marshall wrote:
Renaud

I’ve been soloing the game using the V2 rules to get them right in my head as I have a face to face game scheduled for the week after next in which I’ll be teaching the game to my opponent.

I have a query regarding the new rule 2.3.12 which allows you to pick up some of the key cards should one of them be discarded by his opponent, in exchange for a card from your hand.

I think this is a good change in that the Coalition player’s chances of success are influenced by how soon in the game he is able to play these cards. I’m guessing the intention behind this change is to restrict the chances of a runaway French victory caused in part by the Coalition player not accessing his key cards.

Bearing this in mind, what happens if the French player discards (say) the Continental System card in the strategy phase after retaining it (unplayed) throughout the previous year? I can see two options:

1. The Coalition player can’t pick up Continental System as at the time he doesn’t have any cards of his own (as he is also discarding his hand to zero prior to refilling it)

2. The Coalition player may exchange one of his freshly drawn cards for the Continental System card lying at (or near) the top of the discard pile.

This could affect the French strategy, i.e. is hanging onto a valuable Coalition card to discard it to the discard pile at the start of the strategy phase (knowing that the Coalition player won’t be able to pick it up immediately) a viable option for Napoleon?

Of course, the opposite would apply to a Coalition player who draws Territorial Concessions as part of his card hand.

Thanks in advance,

Jim


If you don't have a card to discard IMMEDIATELY you can't pick up a red card that was just discarded. Holding a red card to try and prevent the other player from picking it up is a valid strategy but costs you the use of that card for movement or refreshing purposes. Plus, the other player may still be able to dig it up later with a Napoleonica card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Marshall
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the swift response Renaud.

Regards,

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Akinde
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understood the V2 rules correctly, this (hanging on to cards) is only a valid strategy for the Coalition in 1805-1810 (as the French discard first here) and for the French in 1811-1815 (reverse), right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeppe Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
If I understood the V2 rules correctly, this (hanging on to cards) is only a valid strategy for the Coalition in 1805-1810 (as the French discard first here) and for the French in 1811-1815 (reverse), right?


Who's discarding first? I would say it's the Coalition!?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renaud Verlaque
United States
Shelter Island Heights
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
See 9.1 of v2
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeppe Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Sorry - missed it.

Thanks Renaud!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.