Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Tiny Epic Galaxies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Satellites & Super Weapons clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Beason
United States
Carrollton
US
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wanted to confirm my interpretation of a couple of rules in the mini-expansion.

Satellite Victory Points
The rules say that the 1 Victory Point from captured satellites does not trigger the end game. That means a player must have 21 points from colonized planets, empire upgrades, or destroyed super weapons to trigger the end game. However it is possible for a player with captured satellites to win the game. Triggering the end game does not mean winning the game.

Example:

* Player 1 has 20 points from colonized planets & empire upgrades and 2 captured satellites.
* Player 2 has 21 points from colonized planets & empire upgrades but 0 captured satellites.
* Player 1, though, wins the game with 22 vs Player 1's 21.


Super Weapons Abilities
The rules state "Unlike a planet, players cannot use a Super Weapon ability by landing on the surface." This should be "by landing a ship on the surface." Players have to place a satellite to use the weapon ability.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R B
United States
Mayville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
that looks correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anony Mous
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You are correct. Think of the satellites the same way as your secret mission cards; the points from them don't count until after the game is over. That's because they're disposable... if you have 5 satellites, and 16 points from your empire & collected planets, even though you may have 21 points "visible" on your galaxy, if you triggered the end game condition with that, you could possibly spend those satellites to activate a super weapon on your last turn, and suddenly, you don't have 21 points, anymore.

Because they're a resource that you're able to consume, they only count for points if you still have them when the game's over.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.