Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

World's Fair 1893» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Brilliant Implementation Of A Historical Theme That I Wanted To Use rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Leder
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Let me start this review with a little about me. I’m absolutely captivated by the World’s Columbian Exposition (aka World’s Fair) that took place in my hometown of Chicago in 1893. It was a monumental undertaking and showcased some incredible ingenuity and inspiration. I have gone many times to Jackson Park and the Wooded Island to walk the former area where the Midway Plaisance and famed Ferris Wheel stood. It mesmerizes me.

I’m also a game designer, and for years, I’ve tinkered with a game based on this subject; one that would capture the various aspects of the fair and be fun at the same time. I actually have a pretty good playable prototype that I will now be burning in effigy as I play the fantastic game World’s Fair 1893 from Foxtrot Games, designed by J. Alex Kevern. It puts my design to shame, and does justice to this amazing event in history.

First, I have to say that the version I played was only a prototype, so it featured basic layouts and very little final art from the ultra-talented Beth Sobel and super-popular artist and coin enthusiast Adam McIver. I have seen from the images of final art that everything from the exhibits to the portraits has been given that Adam McIver love™ that people can’t get enough of. Nor should they. Seriously, together Beth and Adam have really evoked the period and it makes the game super attractive.