Popular Tags: [View All]
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there!
I'm completely new to wargaming, but have been seduced by the interesting themes that GMT has to offer. I decided a couple of days ago that I'd buy a few of these games, and narrowed my list down to a couple of items, I've now taken the plunge and ordered:

Here I Stand- (I enjoy Twilight Imperium/Warrior Knights/Dune- will this be similar?)
Twilight Struggle-
Pax Romana-
C&C Europe-

I was also desperately looking for Napoleonic Wars, but could only find it at one obscure UK retailer, who was selling it for a staggering 95 pounds!!! (approx 190 dollars). Will these games be a good starting point? I tried to do my research on BGG, and all these games ranked highly, and seemed to have good reviews. How hard will these be to play? I do play games like Twilight Imperium, but Here I Stand looked like it had an ever more horrific and complicated set of rules!! A couple of other questions I had- how worthwile is the P500 scheme? Would it be worthwhile for someone in the UK? Blackbeard looked incredibly appealling but will it be worth my while to import? Has anyone else tried it in the UK? Also anyone know of Napoleonic Wars being sold cheaper? It was on the tp of my list but I really can't find it anywhere (there seem to be no good Napoleonic themed games...)
Thanks in advance for your help,
Arcturus, Ewan Anderson

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Brown
United Kingdom
STOCKPORT
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mb
Quote:
Here I Stand- (I enjoy Twilight Imperium/Warrior Knights/Dune- will this be similar?)
Twilight Struggle-
Pax Romana-
C&C Europe-

Apart from Twilight Strugle none of these (IMO) are beginners games.

Here I Stand - Excellent game and rule book but it is a complex game and not for the faint hearted. Also you need a min of three players
Twilight Struggle - Brillant two player game, but stretching a point as to whether you consider it a wargame