Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Battle of Five Armies» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5 units with greater than 5 combat strength rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Wilborn
msg tools
mbmb
THe booklet says never more than 5 dice in a fight, but i hace a combat strength of 6 (4 wargs and 1 great orc).

In this situation am I simple not rolling for one of the units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Ramus
msg tools
designer
Ora et Labora
badge
In Saecula Saeculorum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In short: yes.

When you use the abillity of the Wargs you'll roll 4 black dice and 1 regular die. When you use the abillity of the GO you'll roll 1 black die and 4 regular dice. After you lose one of your units (probably a warg) you'll still roll 5 dice (even though you'll have 4 units); in this case you'll have 3 black dice for the Wargs' abillity and 1 for the GO abillity.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary
United Kingdom
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
oooh that tickles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've been playing it as:

When you use the abillity of the GO, roll 2 black die and 3 regular dice.

(i.e. one of the Wargs doesn't attack)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you use a unit type's special ability you only roll one die for each unit, no matter what their Combat Strength is.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary
United Kingdom
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
oooh that tickles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I hadn't spotted that rule. I will play properly in future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Reed
Canada
Ancaster
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What if a unit has combat strength of 7 but your opponent plays a card to reduce strength by 2.

Should it be 7-2 roll 5 dice or
5-2 so you roll only 3 dice
?

D.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you quote the exact wording of the card?

If you are referring to Great Confusion then you roll 3 dice because the text refers to combat dice, not combat strength:

Your opponent rolls two dice less in his Combat roll (to a minimum of one).

[Edited for clarity]
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if the card reduces Combat Strength, then 5 dice would still be rolled (7 - 2). However, if the card reduces Combat Dice, then 3 dice would be rolled.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.