Subject: Custom game board rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Krzysztof RabidBlackDog
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello survivors!
My question is: would anybody here be interested in a custom game board for Dead of Winter? It happens, that I have made one. But before uploading any files I preffered to ask and write a few words about it.
First of all, and most important: I made this board design with only one purpose in mind - to further enjoy the great game that Dead of Winter is. In no way I've tried to hassle with ownership rights etc. Although I tried to recreate as much elements of the board as possible, some of the elements used are from the original game - illustrations for the locations in particular. Of course they are intellectual property of the publisher and/or authors. I could paint my own, because I'm an artist myself, but this would take too much time and probably I would never finish this project. This is the main reason I am posting a thread before uploading files - if someone from Dead of Winter team sees no problem with it (and it seem that author can be seen here or there), and people will like it, I'll upload files for printing.
That said, few more words why I made this.
I like Dead of Winter a lot, but that small colony board plus location boards didn't feel right. Travelling between locations and the colony was a little too abstract for me, feeling of being in a city and roaming from place to place to find what is needed to survive was missing. I had Arkham Horror board in mind, where you knew that these circles and rectangles are not just fields for your game piece that trigger events, but places and locations in town. I wanted the colony not to be just a separate game area but a heart of this zombie-ridden town, surrounded by and barred from overwhelming danger. Maybe it was a little to much to obtain, but at least I tried I wanted the design to stay true to the original game mood.