Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Bowling
United States
Waterford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Civilization is one of those games that I feel bad that I missed because I'm so new(ish) to the hobby (heck, that game was made before I was born). I've always thought it would be cool to have a copy of the game. Well, obviously I've been excited about Mega Civilization, but instead of getting a reprint of an old game, I'm getting a labroiously crafted, wooden-case, 5 bajillioin component, limited edition, $200 (I think? Or it is $100) reimagining of the game.

So my question is this: how serious do you have to be about this game (or board gaming in general) to consider picking up a copy of Mega Civilization? I'm a college student without steady income (but with a good stash of residual graduation money)- I don't know what my life will look like in 10 or 20 years and if that will mean I can play Mega Civilization. But at the same time, I don't want to miss out on this game twice.

Ugh. Any thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ancestral Hamster
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a former fan of Advanced Civilization, my take is "don't bother." It was a good game in its day, but game design has advanced since then. What fired Advanced Civilization for me was Clash of Cultures, which gives the civ-building experience in about half the time of Advanced Civilization (that assumes experienced AdCiv players as well, otherwise novices will slow the game down radically). Gameplay is more varied for Clash of Cultures than AdCiv, with changing map layouts for each game. Of course, Clash is not attempting a more "historical" approach like AdCiv with its real world map of the Middle East and Mediterranean.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/40765/clash-cultures