Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark McKay
United States
Needles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I just finished a 3 player game with my two sons, 8 and 7 year olds. They played pretty darn well

To preface, I have been introducing my boys to strategy games since about 4 years old. It started with Chess (they got to stay up later if they could beat me ), then went to risk (which they play together by themselves all the time now since I don't care so much if that game gets damaged), then Nexus Ops, Small World, and finally Game of Thrones board game. They have grasped all the games pretty well so far. I have been letting my boys play a mini game I made up of TI3 using just the tactical actions to fight over mecatol rex. So they new the basics of tactical actions and combat. This really helped in explaining the rest of the game to them, which to my surprise went really smoothly.

I had a day off and my boys asked to play TI3, a game they have seen played several times now and have really wanted to play so... we decided to give it a try. Micah, my 7 year old was the Naalu, Judah, 8 year old, was the Federation of Sol, and I had the Hacan.

We all started out grabbing up our nearby planets. Judah and Micah both did a great job of amassing large fleets in the process. Judah had a few dreadnoughts and cruisers/destroyers in his fleet. Micah made an early dash for Mecatol Rex and an early lead. Micah didn't have much of a fleet protecting MR and I was able to take it two turns later. Judah had moved his fleet of Dreadnoughts adjacent to MR but decided he liked his 3 trade good agreement with me too much to attack me. He instead opted to go for blood, attacking Micah insteadarrrh.