Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Amphibious Attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gedeongp Gedeongp
msg tools
Hi

When you try one amphibious attack and lose the battle, few MP's need to debark in a other port? 2MP (navigation and debark)?

You have to return to the port from which you come or you can land on an unoccupied port?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jakub Kircun
United States
Woods Hole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gedeongp wrote:
Hi

When you try one amphibious attack and lose the battle, few MP's need to debark in a other port? 2MP (navigation and debark)?

You have to return to the port from which you come or you can land on an unoccupied port?

Thanks


You can return to any unoccupied port, which would require 2MPs (1 for naval transport movement, and 1 for debarkation). You can also try and amphibiously assault the space again for 2MPs, as long as you also have enough MPs to move to an unoccupied port in case you do not manage to gain possession on the attacked space.

To be honest the rules are pretty confusing (and sometimes contradictory) about the actual amount of MPs needed for these and other more complex naval operations, such as bypassing an enemy occupied port.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you need at least 5 MP for an Amphibious Attack:
1 MP to Embark
1 MP to Move
1 MP to Debark in Port being attacked
1 MP to Attack
0 MP to Embark if you lose
1 MP to Debark at a friendly Port.

(11.3.6) If an Army using Naval Transport Stops in a Port occupied
by enemy Land Combat Units, Garrisons, Cities, or Towns
and intends to move past that Space, it may do so if it makes a
successful Continuity roll. If it fails that roll, it must debark and
perform an Amphibious Attack at the total cost of 2 MP. A Naval
Transport Fleet may not attempt to move past a Port occupied by
enemy Land Combat Units, Garrisons, Cities, or Towns if it does
not have enough MP to conduct an Amphibious Attack (3 MP – 2
to debark and conduct the Amphibious Attack, 1 to debark at a
friendly Port if it loses the Amphibious Attack).


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Conroy
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is an instance where the rules seem unnecessarily complicated. Why require the assaulting army to have a retreat option, rather than just let it be destroyed if unable to retreat?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 29 Rule 11.3.4:

"...However, an Amphibious Attack may be conducted only if the Active Army has enough MP to debark elsewhere under the assumption that it fails to occupy the Battle Space (but without worrying about Stopping on
Naval or Deep Sea Transit Points), in this case re-embarkation of
the Army costs 0MP...."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gedeongp wrote:
Hi

When you try one amphibious attack and lose the battle, few MP's need to debark in a other port? 2MP (navigation and debark)? YES!

You have to return to the port from which you come or you can land on an unoccupied port? YES!

Thanks


You are correct young man!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke The (un)Lucky
Poland
flag msg tools
"Do you remember when Things seemed so eternal? Heroes were so real... Their magic frozen in time"
badge
"They came, they saw and acknowledged Some good, some bad Opinion: Dangerous"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@UP
Actually, when you lose an amphibious attack you don't have to pay any MP for navigation (it was mentioned by jwboone) - just for debarking in any FRIENDLY port. The example provided in Rulebook is wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.