Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Cyclades» Forums » Rules

Subject: Buying extra units? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave C.
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I reading the rules right about buying extra troops or fleets?

I read it that if you want to recruit 4 troops on a turn, you will need to pay 9 gold pieces for this (Free + 2 + 3 + 4 = 9). Likewise if you want 4 fleets, you will pay six gold pieces.

Is this correct? There are some folks telling me I only pay 4 gold pieces total for 4 troops (Free + 2 + 1 + 1 = 4).

Thanks...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Drog
United States
Jacksonville Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get 1 free troop. You may purchase extra troops: the second
costs 2 GP, the third 3 GP, and the fourth 4 GP. Therefore a total of 9 GP for 4 troops. You cannot purchase more than 3 extra troops in a turn.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Abdullah Ibrahim and Ekaya - Sotho Blue
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cooz wrote:
There are some folks telling me I only pay 4 gold pieces total for 4 troops (Free + 2 + 1 + 1 = 4).

You could show them the rules; it's worth a try.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C.
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sphere wrote:
Cooz wrote:
There are some folks telling me I only pay 4 gold pieces total for 4 troops (Free + 2 + 1 + 1 = 4).

You could show them the rules; it's worth a try.


Well, you see it's a matter of interpretation... of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cooz wrote:
Sphere wrote:
Cooz wrote:
There are some folks telling me I only pay 4 gold pieces total for 4 troops (Free + 2 + 1 + 1 = 4).

You could show them the rules; it's worth a try.


Well, you see it's a matter of interpretation... of the rules.


Really?

From the rulebook:

Quote:
Ares offers a free Troop. It is possible to purchase extra Troops, as follows:
• The second Troop costs 2 GP
• The third one 3 GP
• The fourth one 4 GP

A player cannot purchase more than 3 extra Troops in any given turn.

No player can have more than 8 Troops.

Troops must be placed on isles controlled by the player.


The "second" troop costs 2 GP.
The "third" troop costs 3 GP.

The pronoun "one" can be replaced with the original word.

Is this not explicit?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
veector wrote:
Is this not explicit?

It sounds like you guys need to get out of the house, maybe engage in real commerce. Last time I was in my local grocery store, a box of cereal cost $3.99; a bag of frozen burritos cost $4.19; and a bag of coffee beans cost $6.99. So I gave them $6.99 and left with my cereal, burritos, and coffee.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, if anyone knows a good lawyer, my preliminary hearing is on the 23rd. You can tell they've got a weak case when they're trying to classify a bag of frozen burritos a "deadly weapon"; also, at no time did the alleged victim identify himself as a police officer, so I think we can prove I was acting in self defense.
5 
 Thumb up
1.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C.
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are interpreting it that you add one coin to the payment for each extra item (troop/ship) purchased so that it meant that a TOTAL of four coins would be paid for four troops, etc. I really felt I was redaing it the right way (the way you are all saying here) but the other people were adamant that I was reading it wrong...

Thanks all!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ignore the Ares/Poseidon god boards in the auction. The rules speak it more plainly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C.
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
veector wrote:
Ignore the Ares/Poseidon god boards in the auction. The rules speak it more plainly.


That board was a big part of their justification...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.