Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mega Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: MONARCHY and COINAGE question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian McCarty
United States
La Crescent
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could someone choose to tax at 4 / city if they held both of these?

COINAGE: Why would you ever choose to have a tax revolt if you can prevent it?

Thanks,

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy K.
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Way-whu-nuh-now?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
N9IWP wrote:
Could someone choose to tax at 4 / city if they held both of these?

COINAGE: Why would you ever choose to have a tax revolt if you can prevent it?

Thanks,

Brian


Maybe you've made a deal last turn to give a player a city? Or you know one of your cities is going to be sacked by player X, so why not do it yourself, make player Y take your city, and then she'll have to give up a card when sacked instead of you? Edit: On second thought, since the beneficiary chooses, I suppose that second idea wouldn't really work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Rodriguez
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
N9IWP wrote:
Could someone choose to tax at 4 / city if they held both of these?

COINAGE: Why would you ever choose to have a tax revolt if you can prevent it?

Thanks,

Brian


Correct and it would be unlikely but you could think of some edge cases where you might want to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo de Haan
Netherlands
Heerhugowaard
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A different option is this: You hold Democracy.

We put that line there in the manual, to take away any confusion whether you are allowed to or not. It's not essential enough though to put it on the card itself.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian McCarty
United States
La Crescent
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, with DEMOCRACY you might want to get enough in treasury to buy some trade cards. Good point!

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you have to have both MONARCHY and DEMOCRACY to make it happen.
from a thematic point of view
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo de Haan
Netherlands
Heerhugowaard
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pethulhu wrote:
So you have to have both MONARCHY and DEMOCRACY to make it happen.
from a thematic point of view


I live in the Netherlands. We have monarchy and democracy here...

By the way, the original historical monarchy and democracy are completely different from the modern systems.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.