Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
53 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Board Game: Twilight Struggle
Twilight Struggle» Forums » General

Subject: card reword project -- printable docx coming soon. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
UPDATE: Several of the cards in this post are not the most up to date. I'll be posting a docx containing what I use to print my cards, likely in a week or so, once I get back home and get a couple "last" questions answered. Thanks very much to everyone that's provided feedback so far. It's really appreciated!

The #1 game should have unambiguous text! Don't you agree?

Definitions:

+1 Op/-1 Op [maximum/minimum X]: All of the indicated player’s cards have 1 more/less operations point for the stated purposes. If there are no purposes stated, the cards have 1 more/less operations point for all purposes. If a maximum or minimum is stated, this effect can’t increase/decrease the Op value beyond that number (but other effects might, like The China Card’s own effect).

Associated: Which player the card is “associated” with – USSR-associated cards have red stars, US-associated cards have white stars, and neutral-associated cards have split stars.

Can’t occur: An event that can’t occur can’t be played for its event, and if a player plays an opponent-associated card for operations, its event doesn’t occur. If another card (such as Missile Envy) instructs that event to occur, it doesn’t.

Cancel: Cause a card that is in effect to cease being in effect.

Conduct [operations/a coup or realignment] with [this/that] card: Conduct operations, using the given card’s operations value. Effects that would have modified this card’s operations value if you played it for operations will effect these operations as well. For example, if Containment is in effect, and CIA Created resolves, the US conducts operations with 2 operations points (even though CIA Created is a 1-Op card). Notably, this does NOT trigger that card’s event.

Coup result: The result of the die roll made to see if a coup is successful. Effects that modify a coup result notably do not modify the ops value of the card used to coup, just the coup itself, so those effects don’t change the number of military operations gained by couping.

Degrade DEFCON: Decrement the DEFCON level. For example, if it’s 3, set it to 2. If this causes DEFCON to drop to 1, the phasing player loses the game.

Entirely in: To conduct operations “entirely in” a region is to either (1) place influence only in countries in that region, (2) coup a country in that region, or (3) realign countries only in that region. Note that (3) may be true for part of a turn, then stop being true because the player decides to realign a country outside that region; if this is the case, the indicated effect doesn’t happen. For example, suppose Vietnam Revolts is in effect, and they use a 4-Op card to conduct realignments. They start in Thailand, so their 4-Op card is worth 5 ops, but then they move to Panama for the second roll. After that roll, their 4-Op card is only worth 4 ops, and they’ve used two of them. Further, if they conducted 4 rolls in Southeast Asia, they could not conduct a fifth roll outside it.

Free coup: A free coup is exactly like a coup, except that you may target DEFCON-restricted countries, and you don’t gain military operations.

Ignore: Phrased as ignore [card] in [country]. [Card] will name a region and affect all countries in that region in a specific way. It doesn’t affect [country] that way for the rest of the game. For example, “Ignore NATO in France” means that NATO’s coup/realign restriction doesn’t apply to france.

Improve DEFCON: Increment the DEFCON level. For example, if it’s 3, set it to 4.

In effect: A card is “in effect” if it has been played previously and has a lasting effect that has not ended. For example, after NORAD has been played, and before Quagmire has been played, NORAD is “in effect”. After Vietnam Revolts has been played, it is “in effect” until the turn ends.

Occur: An event occurs when its text resolves. If a card says that an event on another card occurs, resolve its text as though no italic conditionals were present on the card. Other effects may still prevent the event from occurring (such as Camp David Accords).

Phasing player: During action rounds, the player whose turn it is. During the headline phase, the player whose headline event is currently occurring.

Play only if: If the specified condition isn’t met, this card can’t be headlined or played for its event. It can be played for operations, but its event will not occur (even if it’s opponent-associated). Other effects can cause the event to occur anyway (such as Missile Envy).

Sufficient for control: To gain influence sufficient for control, first check to see if the appropriate player already controls the country. If they do, nothing happens. Otherwise, place influence in that country until that player controls that country. For example, if the USSR has 1 influence in Japan (a 4-stability country), and the US has 2 influence, the US would place 3 influence in order to gain influence sufficient for control.

Sufficient to equal: To gain influence sufficient to equal the opponent’s influence, first check to see if the appropriate player already has as much as or more influence than their opponent in that country. If they do, nothing happens. Otherwise, set that player’s influence in that country equal to their opponent’s. (In other words, this can’t reduce influence, but it will increase influence so that it matches your opponent’s.)



EDIT: I've incorporated a ton of fixes here, and re-pasted my document as a result. I didn't bother re-formatting the text, but in general: Reminder text (like this) should be in italics, as should "Play only if" clauses.

The cards:

EARLY WAR.

#4 Duck and Cover: Degrade DEFCON once. Then the US receives VP equal to 5 minus the current DEFCON.

#5 Five Year Plan: The USSR randomly discards a card. If that card is a US-associated card, its event occurs.

#7 Socialist Governments: Remove a total of 3 US influence from countries in Western Europe, but remove no more than 2 influence per country.

#8 Fidel: Remove all US influence from Cuba. Add USSR influence there sufficient for control.

#9 Vietnam Revolts: Add 2 USSR influence in Vietnam. This turn, when the USSR conducts operations entirely in Southeast Asia, +1 Op.

#10 Blockade: The US may discard a 3-Op or greater card. If he or she doesn’t, remove all US influence from West Germany.

#11 Korean War: The USSR gains 2 military operations. Roll a die and subtract the number of US controlled countries adjacent to South Korea. If the result is 4 or greater, the USSR receives 2 VP, removes all US influence from South Korea and gains that much influence there.

#12 Romanian Abdication: Remove all US influence from Romania. Add USSR influence there sufficient for control.

#13 Arab-Israeli War: The USSR gains 2 military operations. Roll a die and subtract the number of US controlled countries that are Israel or adjacent to it. If the result is 4 or greater, the USSR receives 2 VP, removes all US influence from Israel and gains that much influence there.

#14 COMECON: Add 1 USSR influence in each of 4 non-US controlled countries in Eastern Europe.

#15 Nasser: Add 2 USSR influence in Egypt. Remove half the US influence there, rounded up.

#16 Warsaw Pact Formed: Remove all US influence from 4 countries in Eastern Europe, or add a total of 5 USSR influence in countries in Eastern Europe but add no more than 2 per country.

#17 De Gaulle Leads France: Remove 2 US influence from France and add 1 USSR influence there. Ignore NATO in France.

#18 Captured Nazi Scientist: Move your Space Race marker ahead one space (and receive the appropriate VPs).

#19 Truman Doctrine: Remove all USSR influence from 1 uncontrolled country in Europe.

#20 Olympic Games: Your opponent chooses “participate” or “boycott”. If your opponent chooses “participate”, each player rolls a die and you add 2, rerolling ties. The high roller receives 2 VP. If your opponent chooses “boycott”, degrade DEFCON once and conduct operations as though you played a 4-Op card.

#21 NATO: Play only if ‘Warsaw Pact Formed’ or ‘Marshall Plan’ is in effect.

For the rest of the game, the USSR can’t coup or realign US-controlled countries in Europe, and US-controlled countries in Europe can’t be chosen for ‘Brush War’.

#22 Independent Reds: Add US influence in either Yugoslavia, Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary, or Czechoslovakia sufficient to equal the USSR influence there.

#23 Marshall Plan: Add 1 US influence in each of 7 non-USSR controlled countries in Western Europe.

#24 Indo-Pakistani War: Gain 2 military operations. Choose India or Pakistan. Roll a die and subtract the number of countries your opponent controls adjacent to the chosen country. If the result is 4 or greater, receive 2 VP, remove all opposing influence from that country, and gain that much influence there.

#25 Containment: For the rest of this turn, the US always has +1 Op, maximum 4.

#26 CIA Created: The USSR reveals their hand this turn. The US conducts operations with this card.

#27 US/Japan Mutual Defense Pact: Add US influence in Japan sufficient for control. For the rest of the game, the USSR can’t coup or realign Japan.

#28 Suez Crisis: Remove a total of 4 US influence from France, United Kingdom, and Israel, but remove no more than 2 per country.

#29 East European Unrest: Choose 3 countries in Eastern Europe. If it’s the Late War, remove 2 USSR influence from each of those countries; otherwise, remove 1 USSR influence from each of those countries.

#30 Decolonization: Add 1 USSR influence to each of 4 total countries in Africa and/or Southeast Asia.

#31 Red Scare/Purge: For the rest of this turn, your opponent always has -1 Op, minimum 1.

#32 UN Intervention: You can’t play this card in the headline phase. Play simultaneously with an opponent-associated card played for operations.

The event on the opponent-associated card you played with this card doesn't occur.[/i]

#33 De-Stalinization: Remove up to 4 total USSR influence from any countries. Add total USSR influence equal to the amount removed to any non-US controlled countries, but add no more than 2 per country.

#34 Nuclear Test Ban: Receive VP equal to the DEFCON level minus 2, then improve DEFCON twice.

#35 Formosan Revolution: While scoring Asia, if the US controls Taiwan, it’s a battleground country. (This includes the ‘Asia Scoring’ card and final scoring.)

When the US plays ‘The China Card’, cancel this card.

#103 Defectors: When the US reveals this card as their headline, the USSR headline event can’t occur (even if it has a higher Op value than this card).

When the USSR plays this card during an action round, the US gains 1 VP.

#104 The Cambridge Five: The US reveals all scoring cards in their hand. The USSR adds 1 influence to a country in one of the regions any of those cards would score. (If the US doesn’t have any scoring cards, the USSR doesn’t add any influence.)

#105 Special Relationship: If the US doesn’t control the United Kingdom, do nothing. Otherwise, if ‘NATO’ is in effect, add 2 US influence to one country in Western Europe and the US receives 2 VP. Otherwise, add 1 US influence to one country adjacent to United Kingdom.

#106 NORAD: When DEFCON changes to 2 during an Action Round, if the US controls Canada, add 1 US influence to one country containing US influence. (This effect is canceled by ‘Quagmire’.)

MID WAR.

#36 Brush War: Gain 3 military operations.

Choose a country with a stability of 1 or 2. Roll a die and subtract the number of opponent-controlled countries adjacent to the chosen country. If the result is 3 or greater, receive 1 VP, remove all opponent influence from the chosen country, and gain that much influence there.

#39 Arms Race: If the phasing player has more military operations than their opponent, that player receives 1 VP. If that player has more military operations than their opponent and has met the required amount for this turn, that player receives 3 VP instead.

#40 Cuban Missile Crisis: Set DEFCON to 2. For the rest of the turn until this effect is canceled, if your opponent would coup, he or she loses the game instead (even in a non-battleground).

At any time while this is in effect, the USSR may remove 2 influence from Cuba and cancel this card.

At any time while this is in effect, the US may remove 2 influence from West Germany or Turkey and cancel this card.

#41 Nuclear Subs: For the rest of the turn, US coups in battlegrounds don’t degrade DEFCON. (This effect doesn’t apply to events that explicitly change DEFCON.)

#42 Quagmire: Cancel ‘NORAD’.

While this is in effect, if the US would take an Action Round, instead he or she discards a 2-Op or greater card and rolls a die. If he or she discarded a card and the die roll result is 4 or less, cancel this card (but the Action Round is still used up). (If this effect would cause the US to hold a scoring card, they should ignore this effect and play it.)

#43 SALT Negotiations: Improve DEFCON twice. Look at the discard pile. You may put a non-scoring card from it into your hand.

For the rest of the turn, subtract 1 from all coup results.

#44 Bear Trap: While this is in effect, if the USSR would take an Action Round, instead he or she discards a 2-Op or greater card and rolls a die. If he or she discarded a card and the die roll result is 4 or less, cancel this card (but the Action Round is still used up). (If this effect would cause the USSR to hold a scoring card, they should ignore this effect and play it.)

#45 Summit: Each player rolls a die and adds the number of regions he or she dominates or controls. The high roller receives 2 VP, and may improve DEFCON once or degrade DEFCON once (or leave it alone). (Don’t reroll ties. If you tie, nothing happens.)

#46 How I Learned To Stop Worrying: Set DEFCON to any level you want. Gain 5 military operations.

#47 Junta: Place 2 influence in any one country in Central America or South America. Then conduct a free coup or realignment with this card, entirely in those regions.

#48 Kitchen Debates: If the US controls more battleground countries than the USSR, receive 2 VP (then poke your opponent in the chest!).

#49 Missile Envy: Your opponent chooses a card in his or her hand having the highest operations value among those cards, and discards that card. If it’s an opponent-associated card, conduct operations with that card. (Its event doesn’t occur.) Otherwise, its event occurs.

Put this card into your opponent’s hand. While it remains there, when your opponent takes an action round, they must play this card for operations if they can legally do so.

#50 “We Will Bury You”: Degrade DEFCON once.

During the US’s next Action Round, if the US isn’t using ‘UN Intervention’ to prevent the event on a USSR-aligned card played for operations, the USSR receives 3 VP before the US’s play resolves.

#51 Brezhnev Doctrine: For the rest of this turn, the USSR always has +1 Op, maximum 4.

#52 Portuguese Empire Crumbles: Add 2 USSR influence to each of Angola and SE African States.

#53 South African Unrest: Choose one: Add 2 USSR influence to South Africa, or add 1 USSR influence to South Africa and 2 total USSR influence to any one country adjacent to South Africa.

#54 Allende: Add 2 USSR influence to Chile.

#55 Willy Brandt: The USSR receives 1 VP. Add 1 USSR influence to West Germany.

Ignore ‘NATO’ in West Germany. (This effect is canceled by ‘Tear Down This Wall’.)

#56 Muslim Revolution: Remove all US influence from 2 of the following countries: Sudan, Iran, Iraq, Egypt, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Syria, or Jordan.

#57 ABM Treaty: Improve DEFCON once. Conduct operations with this card.

#58 Cultural Revolution: If the USSR has ‘The China Card’, he or she receives 1 VP. Otherwise, he or she takes ‘The China Card’ face up. (They may play it this turn!)

#59 Flower Power: For the rest of the game, whenever the US plays a War card for its event or operations, the USSR receives 2 VPs if the event can occur. (The War cards are Arab-Israeli War, Brush War, Indo-Pakistani War, Iran-Iraq War, and Korean War.)

FAQ entry: Neutral War cards played for operations still trigger this effect. Sending a War card to space doesn’t trigger this effect.

#60 U2 Incident: The USSR receives 1 VP. If ‘UN Intervention’ prevents an event from occurring this turn, the USSR receives another 1 VP at that time.

#61 OPEC: The USSR receives 1 VP for each country he or she controls among the following: Egypt, Iran, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Gulf States, and Venezuela.

#62 “Lone Gunman”: The US reveals their hand. The USSR conducts operations with this card.

#63 Colonial Rear Guards: Add 1 US influence to each of 4 total countries in Africa and/or Southeast Asia.

#64 Panama Canal Returned: Add 1 US influence to Panama, Costa Rica, and Venezuela.

#65 Camp David Accords: The US receives 1 VP. Add 1 US influence to Israel, Jordan, and Egypt.

For the rest of the game, the ‘Arab-Israeli War’ event can’t occur.

#66 Puppet Governments: Add 1 US influence to each of 3 countries containing no influence.

#67 Grain Sales to Soviets: Randomly choose 1 card from the USSR’s hand. The US may play that card (for its event, for operations, or on the space race). If he or she doesn’t, or if the USSR has no cards in his or her hand, the US may conduct operations with this card (and the chosen card stays in the USSR’s hand).

#68 John Paul II Elected Pope: Remove 2 USSR influence from Poland and add 1 US influence there.

#69 Latin American Death Squads: For the rest of this turn, add 1 to the value of each of your coup results in Central America and South America, and your opponent subtracts 1 from the value of each of his or her coup results in those regions.

#70 OAS Founded: Add 2 total US influence to any countries in Central America or South America.

#71 Nixon Plays The China Card: If the US has ‘The China Card’, he or she receives 2 VPs. Otherwise, the US takes ‘The China Card’ face down. (They can’t play it this turn.)

#72 Sadat Expels Soviets: Remove all USSR influence from Egypt and add 1 US influence there.

#73 Shuttle Diplomacy: The next time ‘Middle East Scoring’ or ‘Asia Scoring’ is played this game, score the region as though the USSR controlled one fewer battleground. (After one of those regions is scored, put this card in the discard pile.)

#74 The Voice of America: Remove 4 total USSR influence from any countries not in Europe, but remove no more than 2 influence per country.

#75 Liberation Theology: Add 3 total USSR influence to any countries in Central America, but add no more than 2 influence per country.

#76 Ussuri River Skirmish: If the US has ‘The China Card’, add 4 total US influence to any countries in Asia, but add no more than 2 influence per country. Otherwise, the US takes ‘The China Card’ face up. (They may play it this turn!)

#77 “Ask Not What Your Country Can Do For You…”: The US discards any number of cards, then draws that many cards.

#78 Alliance for Progress: The US receives 1 VP for each battleground country he or she controls in Central America and South America.

#80 “One Small Step…”: If you are behind on the Space Race track, move your Space Race marker ahead two spaces. Don’t receive VP for the space skipped.

#107 Che: The USSR may coup with this card in a non-battleground country in Central America, South America, or Africa. If that coup removes any US influence, the USSR may coup with this card against a different non-battleground country in one of those regions.

#108 Our Man in Tehran: Play only if the US controls a country in the Middle East.

If there are fewer than five cards in the draw pile, set them aside, shuffle the discards into a new draw pile, then put the set aside cards on top of it.

The US looks at the top five cards of the draw pile, discards any number of them, then puts the rest back. Shuffle the draw pile.

LATE WAR.

#82 Iranian Hostage Crisis: Remove all US influence from Iran. Add 2 USSR influence to Iran.

(Doubles effect of ‘Terrorism’ against US.)

#83 The Iron Lady: The US receives 1 VP. Add 1 USSR influence to Argentina. Remove all USSR influence from U.K.

For the rest of the game, the ‘Socialist Governments’ event can’t occur.

#84 Reagan Bombs Libya: The US receives VP equal to the USSR’s influence in Libya divided by 2 rounded down.

#85 Star Wars: Play only if the US is ahead on the Space Race track.

The US searches the discard pile for a non-scoring card. Its event occurs.

#86 North Sea Oil: The US may take an 8th action round this turn. (If they’ve won the space race already, this has no effect.)

For the rest of the game, the ‘OPEC’ event can’t occur.

#87 The Reformer: Add a total of 4 USSR influence to Europe, but add no more than 2 influence per country. If the USSR is ahead on the VP track, add 6 influence instead of 4.

For the rest of the game, the USSR can’t coup in Europe.

#88 Marine Barracks Bombing: Remove all US influence in Lebanon. Remove 2 total US influence from countries in the Middle East (in addition to removing the Lebanon influence).

#89 Soviets Shoot Down KAL-007: Degrade DEFCON once. The US receives 2 VP. If the US controls South Korea, the US may conduct realignments or place influence with this card.

#90 Glasnost: The USSR receives 2 VP. Improve DEFCON once. If ‘The Reformer’ is in effect, the USSR may conduct realignments or place influence with this card.

#91 Ortega Elected in Nicaragua: Remove all US influence in Nicaragua. The USSR may coup with this card in a country adjacent to Nicaragua.

#92 Terrorism: Your opponent discards a card at random. If you are the USSR and ‘Iranian Hostage Crisis’ is in effect, your opponent discards an additional card at random. (Events on discards do not occur.)

#93 Iran-Contral Scandal: Whenever the US rolls a die during a realignment attempt, subtract 1 from the result. (This applies both to US and USSR realignment attempts.)

#94 Chernobyl: Choose a region. For the rest of this turn, the USSR can’t place influence in that region. (This effect doesn’t prevent the USSR from receiving influence on a successful coup, nor from receiving influence from an event.)

#95 Latin American Debt Crisis: The US may discard a 3-Op or greater card. If he or she doesn’t, double the USSR’s influence in two countries in South America.

#96 Tear Down This Wall: Cancel ‘Willy Brandt’. While this card is in effect, the ‘Willy Brandt’ event can’t occur.

Add 3 US influence to East Germany. The US may conduct a free coup or realignment with this card in Europe.

#97 “An Evil Empire”: Cancel ‘Flower Power’. While this card is in effect, the ‘Flower Power’ event can’t occur.

The US receives 1 VP.

#98 Aldritch Ames Remix: The US reveals their hand for the rest of the turn. The USSR chooses a card from it. The US discards that card.

#99 Pershing II Deployed: The USSR receives 1 VP. Remove 1 US influence from each of up to three countries in Western Europe.

#100 Wargames: Play only if DEFCON is 2.

You may have your opponent receive 6 VP. If you do, end the game without final scoring.

#101 Solidarity: Play only if ‘John Paul II Elected Pope’ is in effect.

Add 3 US influence to Poland.

#102 Iran-Iraq War: Gain 2 military operations. Choose Iran or Iraq. Roll a die and subtract the number of countries your opponent controls adjacent to the chosen country. If the result is 4 or greater, receive 2 VP, remove all opposing influence from that country, and gain that much influence there.

#109 Yuri and Samantha: For the rest of the turn, whenever the US coups, the USSR receives 1 VP.

#110 AWACS Sale to Saudis: Add 2 US influence to Saudi Arabia.

While this card is in effect, the ‘Muslim Revolution’ event can’t occur.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Thunderbolt Apache Leader fanMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: Marnaudo's Game Reviews fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001-? fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Love this - just played my third game last night and we definitely got a couple of things wrong (didn't bother looking up - I'm sure they are answered on these forums or in the FAQ). But it should definitely be possible to write unambiguous card text.

Quote:
#11 Korean War: The USSR gains 2 military operations. Roll a die and subtract the number of US controlled countries adjacent to South Korea. If the result is 4 or greater, the USSR receives 2 VP, removes all US influence from South Korea, and gains that much influence there.
Gains how much influence?

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wiedewiet
Netherlands
Tilburg
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Training field technicians at trade school level
badge
“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it."
Avatar
Microbadge: Science TeacherMicrobadge: Middle-earth CCG fan - Sauron's EyeMicrobadge: PnP / DIY fan Microbadge: I have crafted Merchant of VenusMicrobadge: I have crafted Magic Realm
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
dbelcher wrote:
Quote:
#11 Korean War: The USSR gains 2 military operations. Roll a die and subtract the number of US controlled countries adjacent to South Korea. If the result is 4 or greater, the USSR receives 2 VP, removes all US influence from South Korea, and gains that much influence there.
Gains how much influence?
This is very clear to me: "USSR removes all US influence and gains that much influence". So basicslly change all US influence into USSR influence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Thunderbolt Apache Leader fanMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: Marnaudo's Game Reviews fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001-? fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
ok makes sense - believe it or not removing the single comma after "South Korea" would make that much clearer. The comma makes it sound like a separate part of the sentence not necessarily related to the previous action.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
Microbadge: Mage Knight Board Game fanMicrobadge: Creative Commons fanMicrobadge: Invisible Pink UnicornMicrobadge: Innovation fanMicrobadge: Twilight Struggle fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
AFAIK Flower power does not give VPs when the US plays Arab-Israeli War "for operations" (because the event cannot occur) while Camp David is in effect. The wording you have used unambiguously gives the wrong result, so something needs changing on either Flower Power or Camp David Accords.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Flower Power also doesn't give VP if the US spaces a war card, and spacing a card involves playing it for it's operations value per the rules so some mention of the Space Race probably needs to get in there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
joe dagostino
United States
estero
FLORIDA
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Fire in the Lake fanMicrobadge: Golden Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Undaunted: Normandy fanMicrobadge: CoolStuff Inc fanMicrobadge: Wingspan fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Same wording issue is involved with Arab-Israeli War card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Thanks for the feedback guys! Making the following changes (updated in the original post) --

Removing the comma before "and gains that much influence there", for clarity, on the cards whose original wordings "replace" an opponent's influence with yours.

Flower Power: Replacing "isn't prevented" with "can occur". Reading the rulings on this did not lead me to the correct conclusion (!) but further digging shows this to be correct. Also, adding to the reminder text to indicate that spacing a card doesn't count.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Latin American Death Squads needs to specify 'coups in Central/South America'

Grain Sales to Soviets should specify that if the US does not play the card picked, it is returned to the USSR.

NORAD only grants the influence during an Action Round, not the Headline Phase, so your wording would need to exclude the Headline Phase or specify an 'Action Round where DEFCON drops to 2'
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Fixing the Latin American Death Squads issue as well.

EDIT:

Grain Sales -- clarifying in reminder text that if the US doesn't play the chosen card, it hasn't left the USSR's hand.

NORAD -- adding "during an action round" to the trigger condition.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Thunderbolt Apache Leader fanMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: Marnaudo's Game Reviews fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001-? fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Indo-Pakistani War needs the comma removed as well.

remove all opposing influence from that country and gain that much influence there.

Same for Brush War
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Thunderbolt Apache Leader fanMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: Marnaudo's Game Reviews fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001-? fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Are the optional cards in this list?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Gah, I searched for "gains that much", which missed "gain that much". That should be fixed.

And yeah the optional cards are here; all the cards are grouped by Early/Mid/Late then sorted by number (so the optionals appear at the end of each section)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wiedewiet
Netherlands
Tilburg
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Training field technicians at trade school level
badge
“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it."
Avatar
Microbadge: Science TeacherMicrobadge: Middle-earth CCG fan - Sauron's EyeMicrobadge: PnP / DIY fan Microbadge: I have crafted Merchant of VenusMicrobadge: I have crafted Magic Realm
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
dbelcher wrote:
ok makes sense - believe it or not removing the single comma after "South Korea" would make that much clearer. The comma makes it sound like a separate part of the sentence not necessarily related to the previous action.
I agree.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"L'état, c'est moi."
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Roger's Reviews: check out my reviews page, right here on BGG!
badge
Caution: May contain wargame like substance
Avatar
Microbadge: International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against WomenMicrobadge: If everybody is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinkingMicrobadge: 2019 Secret Gelato participantMicrobadge: Love Spreader of the WeekMicrobadge: The Fantasy Trip RPG fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Nice work!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
arry -
msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Benkyo wrote:
AFAIK Flower power does not give VPs when the US plays Arab-Israeli War "for operations" (because the event cannot occur) while Camp David is in effect. The wording you have used unambiguously gives the wrong result, so something needs changing on either Flower Power or Camp David Accords.
Do you have a citation for it? I can see how it makes sense, but on other hand the actual wording on FP doesn't care about the playableness of the war event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wojciech Pietrzak
msg tools
Microbadge: Twilight Struggle fanMicrobadge: Twilight Struggle fan - Deluxe Edition ownerMicrobadge: NUCLEAR WARMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
Honestly? I don't like the whole concept that every disambiguation must be solved by the event text wording instead of FAQ. You'll never foresee all the interactions that may occur.

Some things in your proposal are still ambiguous (for example they still don't clarify whether Che played for operations and used entirely in Southeast Asia with both Vietnam Revolts and Brezhnev Doctrine in effect is worth 4 or 5 Ops).

Another example is NORAD:
http://forum.twilightstrategy.com/index.php?topic=275.0 here I asked several questions about NORAD which seemed to be ambiguous according to the current wording and remain ambiguous after your proposal.

You also did not mention that a player is always considered to control his own superpower (relevant for Brush War).

What is worse, your proposal changes the current rules in some situations. Here you are some rules questions for which the current answers differ from the answers based on your wording:

1. If USA controls Italy by 6/4 and NATO is in effect, can USA play Brush War on Italy?
Current answer: No.
Answer according to your wording: Yes.

2. If Five Year Plan draws a one-time US event which may occur at the moment, does the drawn card land on the discard pile or removed pile after the event occurs?
Current answer: removed pile.
Your answer: discard pile.

3. If USA plays Grain Sales to Soviets and draws USSR-associated event while he has no USSR-associated events in his hand, can he choose to play the drawn card simultaneously with UN Intervention to cancel the event text?
Current answer: Yes.
Your answer: No.

4. USSR has 5 Military Operations. USA has 4 Military Operations. DEFCON is at 3. USSR plays Grain Sales to Soviets on his Action Round. USA draws Arms Race and decides to play the card for an event. What happens?
Current answer: Nothing.
Your answer: USSR receives 3VP.

5. Can a player grab a Scoring Card as an effect of playing SALT Negotiations?
Current answer: No.
Your answer: Yes.

6. Can a player play SALT Negotiations for an event and voluntarily grab no card from the discard pile?
Current answer: Yes.
Your answer: No.

7. USSR plays Missile Envy on his last Action Round. USA responds by playing a Scoring Card. Then USA headlines "Ask Not…" and throws Missile Envy away. Three turns later USA draws Missile Envy. Is USA forced to play Missile Envy for operations immediately?
Current answer: No.
Your answer: Yes.

8. USSR plays We Will Bury You for an event. USA responds with playing Grain Sales to Soviets for an event. USA draws Star Wars, grabs UN Intervention from a discard pile and plays it for an event. Does USSR receive 3VPs?
Current answer: No.
Your answer: Yes.

9. Flower Power is in effect. USA plays Star Wars (or Wargames, or Warsaw Pact Formed). Does USSR receive 2VPs?
Current answer: No.
Your answer: Yes.

10. U2-Incident had been played in the current turn. UN Intervention is played for operations. Does USSR gain 1VP?
Current answer: No.
Your answer: Yes.

That's all for now, I stopped on U2-Incident because of lack of time now but I will go on.

All the best
14 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Goldberg
United States
Bonnots Mill
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Boy the way Glenn Miller played // Songs that made the Hit Parade // Guys like us we had it made // Those were the days.
Avatar
Microbadge: "Stupid peck!"Microbadge: Family Member ServingMicrobadge: ChristianMicrobadge: Parent of Two GirlsMicrobadge: Parent of Five Boys
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
pietshaq wrote:
Honestly? I don't like the whole concept that every disambiguation must be solved by the event text wording instead of FAQ. You'll never foresee all the interactions that may occur.

I like the idea of this thread, because everyone interprets differently, so if you can have alternate wordings out there that help folks play the game, all the better.

But at the same time, I agree with pietshaq said, but I would have worded it differently

The established FAQ has to rule over whatever rewording you are doing. Keep up with the project, but don't do what happens a lot where I work, in that the programmers remove old bugs from programs, and insert new ones
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
Microbadge: Mage Knight Board Game fanMicrobadge: Creative Commons fanMicrobadge: Invisible Pink UnicornMicrobadge: Innovation fanMicrobadge: Twilight Struggle fan
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
arry1 wrote:
Benkyo wrote:
AFAIK Flower power does not give VPs when the US plays Arab-Israeli War "for operations" (because the event cannot occur) while Camp David is in effect. The wording you have used unambiguously gives the wrong result, so something needs changing on either Flower Power or Camp David Accords.
Do you have a citation for it? I can see how it makes sense, but on other hand the actual wording on FP doesn't care about the playableness of the war event.
It's in the official FAQ IIRC.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
To be honest I simply don't buy that you can't remove all the ambiguities on these cards. And besides, in doing this, I get to learn how the cards actually function! It seems there are quite a few BGG TS enthusiasts that already know how all the cards work, and I don't. Well, I'd like to!

I was also unaware of the existence of an official FAQ until 20 seconds ago. So I'll be poring over that momentarily.

1. Easy fix; I get to remove text! (and possibly replace it with reminder text -- obviously I read the card and thought it only restricted USSR Brush Wars!)

2. OK, seriously? Both versions of the card say "USSR discards, event occurs." And you're telling me my version is ambiguous? If mine is, so is the official one. Regardless, the goal is removing ambiguities. However I think the ambiguity here is rules, not card text -- the definition of "occur" has to include removing the card from the game if it's a starred event.

3. ... What. That's nowhere in the collected rulings and it isn't supported *at all* by the card text OR the rules! But OK. I'll reword UN intervention. It won't have the clunky play-only-if clause... because you'll never play the card (on its own). (I do see it's in the FAQ.)

4. THIS IS EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE OF WHAT THE CARD SAYS. Let's look just at the original wording of the card, shall we? If the USSR plays Grain Sales, and chooses to give the US Arms Race, the card says the USSR gets 3 VP! Can you provide a source for this ruling? It's not in the FAQ and it's not in the collected rulings.

5. Easy fix, I just forgot to say "non-scoring" (like it says on the original card).

6. This isn't entirely clear to me, it looks as though if the player chooses to look through the discards, they must choose a card. But OK!

7. Missile Envy is a shitty card with shitty wording. *Most* interactions involving missile envy are not solved by the official wording of the card, and I pretty much need to look up a ruling every single time the card comes up in a game. With my wording, I don't. You make a good point here, but I don't see a way around this particular ambiguity; it's one of the few (the only?) that I'd probably rather solve with an FAQ entry. (By the way -- this ambiguity is also present in the official wording!)

8. I disagree that my wording leads to that conclusion. The USSR receives their VP "before the US play resolves" -- they can't get as far as resolving the text of Grain Sales (or Star Wars) before the USSR has already gotten their points.

9. Right, because 'star WARs' and 'WARsaw pact'. I suppose I could take the official route of just naming all the War cards on the card.

10. ... Somehow I gathered that you get the VP if it's played for Ops? I'm not sure how I got that. That's just me being stupid, nothing to see here, move along :-P

EDIT: I do want to thank you, pietshaq, for taking the time to do this even if you don't agree with the premise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
arry1 wrote:
Benkyo wrote:
AFAIK Flower power does not give VPs when the US plays Arab-Israeli War "for operations" (because the event cannot occur) while Camp David is in effect. The wording you have used unambiguously gives the wrong result, so something needs changing on either Flower Power or Camp David Accords.
Do you have a citation for it? I can see how it makes sense, but on other hand the actual wording on FP doesn't care about the playableness of the war event.
This is one of the real killers for me -- if you just read the card out of the box, Flower Power doesn't care at all that the event doesn't occur, just that the card was played! This isn't even an ambiguity, the card is lying to the players. To me, from a game design perspective, that's unacceptable.

I also have a penchant for consistent wording, which is why many cards don't have (apparent) functional changes here but nonetheless got completely gutted during my project ("receive" vs "gain" VPs -- is there a difference? if not, don't use different words).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
I just realized the way I fixed my UN Intervention doesn't let you play it if you pull it with Grain Sales. Intervention is a tough one! I'll figure it out though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wojciech Pietrzak
msg tools
Microbadge: Twilight Struggle fanMicrobadge: Twilight Struggle fan - Deluxe Edition ownerMicrobadge: NUCLEAR WARMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
The current rulings base on ambiguous event text and disambiguations in FAQs or just because all players know what should they do in certain situations. This is why some disambiguations are more allowed now than in your version since you have the ambition to clear the event texts from ambiguity.

Yes, you're right that the literal wording of Arms Race works exactly as yours does. But now the players know that the rules sometimes differ from the literal wording and after the rewording the goal of which is disambiguity they will not know it anymore.

By the way, North Sea Oil bug:
Now USA may play 8 Action Rounds in the Turn in which North Sea Oil had been played if both USA and USSR had finished the Space Race. With your wording he could not.

All the best!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Woods
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
The North Sea oil "bug" is actually an attempt at clarification: I say "an 8th action round" and that's what does the work rules-wise. But just to clarify it, I use reminder text (intended not to have rules weight) to say that if you'd already get 8, this doesn't do anything for you.

However a clarification that makes a situation more muddy is unacceptable! I could remove the reminder text, but I think I'll change it to (if you already get 8 action rounds, this has no effect.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wojciech Pietrzak
msg tools
Microbadge: Twilight Struggle fanMicrobadge: Twilight Struggle fan - Deluxe Edition ownerMicrobadge: NUCLEAR WARMicrobadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Re: i'm back -- rewording twilight struggle cards (all of them).
This is much better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   |