Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Splitting the Fellowship while Hidden rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Downer
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
When the fellowship is hidden, can I split off a character and put him somewhere without announcing where the fellowship is or do I need to declare it?

thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antigonus Monophthalmus
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
You don't need to announce where they are. The character simply moves away from the fellowship the number of spaces the fellowship has moved plus the character's movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Jacobsson
Sweden
Upplands Vasby
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BagpipeDan wrote:
You don't need to announce where they are. The character simply moves away from the fellowship the number of spaces the fellowship has moved plus the character's movement.


That is moved away from the last known position of the fellowship, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. The addition of the distance on the Fellowship track to the splitting characters move is to simulate that he may have split off somewhere (anywhere) along the way during the move;
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sean gebler
United States
North Dakota
flag msg tools
mbmb
If the fellowship is at three unreaveled, can I split Aragorn and move him three for the fellowship into Moria, and then another 3 for his leadership. Or does he have to stop in the stronghold? If so, then it would be better to "declare" the fellowship in Moria. Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kiboko Hippo
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
In your example, Aragorn would not have to stop in Moria. When the fellowship is hidden, think of it as having Aragorn appear up to 3+x regions away from the fellowship where x is the number on the fellowship track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Aragorn would have to stop in Moria. Companions must always stop when entering Shadow Strongholds that are still controlled by the Shadow. If no Shadow Stronghold were involved, he could move 6 Regions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seangebler wrote:
Or does he have to stop in the stronghold? If so, then it would be better to "declare" the fellowship in Moria. Right?

It depends on the situation, but it's seldom a good idea to declare the Fellowship in a Shadow Stronghold (unless it's Morannon or Minas Morgul). Having the last known position in a Shadow Stronghold exposes the Fellowship to Hunt re-rolls, and to an extra tile draw if it's revealed when moving away.

You'd be better off either declaring after moving beyond Moria or moving the Fellowship enough times that Strider could reach his destination moving through the High Pass instead. Of course, you could always separate Strider to Moria, then use another Character die to move him another 3 Regions.

Hope this helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.