Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dream Factory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Final Quarter Question and a Film Completion Question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Play Games - Interact - Have Fun!
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this a few times over Christmas break and a situation came up that wasn't in the rules.

Question 1:

It was the final quarter and we had just resolved the 1st party location which allowed my sister to grab the final tile she need to complete her last film. There had been no new available films since about midway through the previous quarter.

She effectively was "done". It made no sense for her to bid on anything as any tiles she would have won would be useless and she would be bidding away her contracts which are points in the final scoring.

So what does she do?

Does she still collect contracts for the last few bids that the others will win? Or, is it like Reiner's other great auction game Ra, and she is out of the quarter completely once she has nothing more to do?]

Question 2:

If you get a tile that would complete a film but there is a Guest Star spot still open, can you opt to not complete the film? (Maybe there is a guest star on the next location you want to bid on). You are the producer after all, so it seems like you should be able to finish a film whenever you want.

Fun game though, and a big hit with my wife, daughter and sister.



I think the rules are a bit vague on several important points like this one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
She still collects contracts, and in fact may still bid if she wants to prevent another player from getting particular tiles. Or maybe even just to bid up the price in hopes of milking more out of it.

You cannot opt not to complete the film if all non-guest-star spots are filled. If you want to hold out for the perfect guest-star you need to get them signed before all the other pieces of the film are in place.

-MMM
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Cope
United States
Lexington
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another possible answer to question 2:

You don't have to place the chips you win. But as said before, if the film is filled in except for the guest star, then you HAVE to consider the film completed.

So, if you see a guest star chip in an upcoming auction, but the chip you just won would complete the film you want the guest star for, you can just discard the chip you just won.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.