Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Jyn's Peacemaker "interrupt" through a door? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Griffiths
msg tools
Hi all

There are a few missions where the rule "a door adjacent to an imperial figure does not block movement or line of sight" is in play.

We had a situation where an imperial figure shot at Jyn "through" a door while being adjacent to it. The rebel player asked if the peacemaker ability (quoted below) could be used to attack back. We ruled no as Jyn doesn't have line of sight to the imperial figure (also why quick draw couldn't be used).

The rebel was overly happy about this as thematically if the door quickly opened for the imperial figure to shoot then Jyn should be quick enough to return fire.

I can see the thematic point, but the rules do not say the door opens, just that it does not block line of sight of the imperial figure.

What do you all think? Did I get it right?

Peacemaker - "exhaust this cars after a hostile figure resolves an attack targeting you. Interrupt to perform an attack targeting that figure"

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While the Imperial figure has LoS to Jyn, Jyn does not have LoS to the Imperial figure. There are a lot of cases like this and there is nothing special about them.

Jyn can activate Peacemaker, but the attack will end because there is no LoS. (Step 1 of an attack: Declare Target does not find the required figure to be a valid target for the attack.)

Also Quick Draw can be activated without LoS to the figure who is activating. However, whether Jyn can perform the attack or not depends on having LoS (or Trick Shot).


(The doors do not open, there are small shooting holes in the doors. Some doors are also pretty quick to open and close when a figure with the right ID code steps in and out of them.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Griffiths
msg tools
Cheers,

Yes - good, glad I got it right. Thanks for the quick reply.

You reply a lot on this forum and you are always very clear and helpful, so double thanks!

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad to be of help. Practice makes - if not perfect - at least concise.

There are also missions where doors do not block line of sight or movement for adjacent rebel figures.

One special case to notice is that the figure has to move through those 2 adjacent spaces, you can't use a short-cut by moving diagonally through the corner of the door like you can with open doors. So, sometimes movement through these special closed/locked doors take an extra movement point compared to an open door.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
One special case to notice is that the figure has to move through those 2 adjacent spaces, you can't use a short-cut by moving diagonally through the corner of the door like you can with open doors. So, sometimes movement through these special closed/locked doors take an extra movement point compared to an open door.
Why is that the case? Can you cite an official source? "Doesn't block movement," to me, means that it doesn't block movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CitizenFry wrote:
Why is that the case? Can you cite an official source? "Doesn't block movement," to me, means that it doesn't block movement.

The full mission rule is for example "Doors are locked. A door adjacent to a Rebel figure does not block his movement or line of sight.".

The door does block movement if the figure is not adjacent to the door. And only those 2 spaces (per side of the door) that share an edge with the door are adjacent to the door. So, if the figure is not in those spaces, the figure can't step through the door, has to step to the adjacent space first.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Weird, but I agree with the conclusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.