Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Macron wild flare confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony T
msg tools
mb
When using the Macron wild,

As a main player or ally, after your side reveals an attack card, you may add 1 to your side's total for each ship you have in the encounter.

Does this mean you add 1 to the total for ALL ships that are on your side (including allies etc.) or just for the ships that you, as the player of the wild, have in the encounter?

I would read it as the latter, but there was some confusion in the game we played.

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mil Myman
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"...your side...you may add...each ship you have..."

Seems pretty obvious to me. Your ships (whether you are a main player or ally), not anyone-who-isn't-you's ships.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony T
msg tools
mb
Phil Fleischmann wrote:
"...your side...you may add...each ship you have..."

Seems pretty obvious to me. Your ships (whether you are a main player or ally), not anyone-who-isn't-you's ships.


Yes, I thought so too, and that is what we played in the end, but the confusion arose as to whether the 'you' meant the player with the Macron wild alone, or if 'you' was referring back to 'your side' collectively i.e. 'you all'. I suppose if it was different the flare would read:

As a main player or ally, after your side reveals an attack card, you may add 1 to your side's total for each ship your side has in the encounter.

Thanks for the clarification - appreciated
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you need data to convince any of your other players, here's an example where they did it the other way:

Super Virus — You may multiply the total of all ships on your side by your attack card when using your power, not just your own.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dapperghast Meowregard
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Bill Martinson wrote:
If you need data to convince any of your other players, here's an example where they did it the other way:

Super Virus — You may multiply the total of all ships on your side by your attack card when using your power, not just your own.


Though to be fair, the rules aren't exactly known for their consistent wording (Not that I disagree, just Saiyan).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.