Richard Oliver
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
When it's your turn, do you simply add all your attack points together and recruitment points together and then apply them across multiple villains?

Also, if we had 3 identical Avenger cards each having 2+ damage plus they had a special ability +1 damage, how much total damage would it be, 12?

Card 1 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 Card 2, +1 Card 3)
Card 2 = 4 points (+2 for itself + 1 Card 1, +1 card 3)
Card 3 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 card 1, +1 card 2)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zjdoliver wrote:
When it's your turn, do you simply add all your attack points together and recruitment points together and then apply them across multiple villains?


Yes, think of your attack and recruitment points as going into a pool/bank, then you spend points from the bank as needed against each villain or when recruiting heroes.

Quote:
Also, if we had 3 identical Avenger cards each having 2+ damage plus they had a special ability +1 damage, how much total damage would it be, 12?

Card 1 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 Card 2, +1 Card 3)
Card 2 = 4 points (+2 for itself + 1 Card 1, +1 card 3)
Card 3 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 card 1, +1 card 2)


It really depends on how the card is worded. Most of the time +1 abilities have a prerequisite, for example:

Hulk's Growing Anger card is 2+, it's Ability reads "Strength (green fist): You get +1 \\\.

Let's say you have 3 of these in your hand.

The Green fist is a requirement for that ability to activate, so assuming the first Growing Anger card you played was the very first card you played, then you had no previous Strength (green fist) cards played this turn, therefore the requirements are not met.

Card 1 = 2 points

Your play your second Growing Anger card... this has the requirements met by the previous one played.

Card 2 = 3 points (2 base + 1 for the ability)

Here's the third part to all this... these abilities do not stack. You simply need to have met the requirement for it. So even though you've played 2 Strength cards previously, you only get the ability once.

Card 3 = 3 points (2 base + 1 for the ability)


The exception to this would be if it was worded differently, for example "For each Strength cards you've played this turn, you get +1 \\\" Then the ability would stack.

Hope this helps
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mário Sousa
Spain
Barcelona (currently)
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure if I understood your questions, but I'll give it a try.
zjdoliver wrote:
When it's your turn, do you simply add all your attack points together and recruitment points together and then apply them across multiple villains?

You can do it like that, you just need to take care about the special effects of the cards (wall crawl, cards effects' that says "your cards" or "cards in you hand", ...)

zjdoliver wrote:
Also, if we had 3 identical Avenger cards each having 2+ damage plus they had a special ability +1 damage, how much total damage would it be, 12?

Card 1 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 Card 2, +1 Card 3)
Card 2 = 4 points (+2 for itself + 1 Card 1, +1 card 3)
Card 3 = 4 points (+2 for itself, +1 card 1, +1 card 2)

Assuming that the +1 damage comes from an Avenger card previously played (the text should be [avengers symbol]: you get +1 \\\ or something like that) you will get a total of 8 damage.
Card 1 = 2 points (base)
Card 2 = 3 points (+2 for itself + 1 Card 1)
Card 3 = 3 points (+2 for itself, +1 card 1)

Each card will only count as additional damage if it says it on the card (if you look to Captain America's rare card you will see what I'm talking about)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Oliver
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Thanks so much for the quick response!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Oliver
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Thanks so much for the quick response!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Hatinen
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
James answered this flawlessly.

There is a FAQ file at the top of the data about Marvel Legendary, which you probably scrolled past when you posted this question. You'd probably benefit from saving it to disk or printing it.

This forum is very tolerant of new players who are happy to answer questions (isn't it strange many aren't?), but if you can't access this site (maybe like me you don't have web access at home, or are just too busy), that file will probably have the answer. Also, the cards and instruction books (each set has a rules sheet or book) are written very clearly. A great many questions people have had (including two I had) were answered, but not everything always sinks in right away.

Good to have you with us. We hope you enjoy this game as much as we do!


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.