Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A World at War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat results question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Bailey
United States
Carrboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When I produce a combat results which calls for a defender to lose their entire force does this include any air support involved in the battle? Also, if a battle is lost in a hex containing air units on the ground are they destroyed or able to fly to safety? Sorry if these are stupid questions and thanks for any help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill K
United States
Unspecified
Maryland
flag msg tools
. . . then came the king's son, wounded, sore bestead, and weaponless, and saw the broken sword, hilt-buried in the dry and trodden sand, and ran and snatched it, and with battle shout lifted afresh, he hewed his enemy down . . .
badge
See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field . . . will he not much more clothe you? (NIV)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NerdofDoom wrote:
When I produce a combat results which calls for a defender to lose their entire force does this include any air support involved in the battle?
Yes.
15.61: D: All defending units are eliminated.
3: "unit": A ground (infantry, replacement, armor, airborne, Chindit, marine, commando, flak or partisan), air (army air, naval air, kamikaze, jet or air transport), naval (destroyer, cruiser, capital ship, fast carrier or escort carrier) or SW (transport, submarine, ASW, strategic bomber or interceptor) counter is a unit. Other counters are not units.

NerdofDoom wrote:
Also, if a battle is lost in a hex containing air units on the ground are they destroyed or able to fly to safety?
They are displaced.
18.25 DISPLACED AIR UNITS: Air units on bases that are occupied by enemy units or on airbases that are eliminated by isolation are displaced to the nearest controlled base within staging distance that has the capacity to base them, regardless of its supply status. Should two such bases be equidistant, the owning player chooses. If the nearest base is able to base only some of the displaced air units, the owning player chooses which air units go to that base, and the remainder go to the next closest base. Air units which are unable to reach a base within range with the capacity to base them are eliminated. If a base is captured while its air units are absent on a defensive air mission, any air units which attempt to return to the captured base are displaced at the end of the phase in which they flew their mission. Mapboard boxes are considered bases for the purpose of this rule and may receive displaced air units.
6 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Bailey
United States
Carrboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome! Thanks for the clarifications. I'm sure I'll be back for more.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.