Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Teage Watson
United States
Hilliard
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I recently started learning this game. A friend is teaching me with their decks and I have so far scored one agenda in two games. The problem is I don't understand the decisions I am making. I see the mechanics and understand the rules, but I have zero strategy. Any tips on some entry level articles I can read to help me understand better? Seems like everything I find is either explaining the rules or is in depth deckbuilding advice.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amphi Prison
msg tools
mbmbmb
Excellent question!

You're absolutely right that there isn't any proper introduction to strategy. I wish I could point you in the right direction, but the truth is that the meta changes so suddenly and so violently that even strategic-level thinking is tough to pin down.

Some strategic-level questions:

1) Have you tried to pilot the deck that beats you? Often the best way to learn how to win against a particular matchup is to be on the other end of it.

2) Where are your scoring windows? If you don't know where they are, try playing a really fast deck like Argus Security. Drop 1 point agendas in naked remotes, drop them behind a single Ice Wall or a Quandary or even a Chimera and just go to town. Often, we imagine the runner has all the breakers in hand from turn 1, and that's hardly ever the case.

3). What stage of the game are you in?

Early game: Corp doesn't have at least 1 ice rezzed over each central, runner can easily make successful runs.

Mid game: Runner can break 1-2 types of ICE, or has an AI breaker but no support, Corps generally do the best here.