Recommend
200 
 Thumb up
 Hide
335 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [14] | 

Risk: Star Wars Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some rules clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeffrey Van Ness
United States
Dunellen
NJ
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Some of my family was visiting with Craig. Here are some clarifications that came up during game play.


1. Does the Empire receive a bonus card when it destroys a rebel fleet marker or clears a sector with the Death Star card?

Yes, the Empire receives a bonus card for destroying a rebel fleet marker or clearing a sector (after all of the fleet markers are destroyed).


2. Can TIE Fighters attack an adjacent sector after deploying from the Executor?

Yes, TIE Fighters can attack an adjacent sector after deploying from the Executor.


3. Do the Rebels receive any bonus cards from destroying the Executor?

No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board. However, if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.


4. Can the Empire still attack Luke with the Emperor order card after Darth Vader is defeated?

Yes, the Empire can still attack Luke with the Emperor order card after Darth Vader is defeated and the Empire will receive bonus cards if Luke is defeated. If Darth Vader Redeemed is used, this cannot happen.


5. Can Stormtrooper tokens be “stacked”?

No, Stormtrooper tokens cannot be stacked. Only one Stormtrooper token can occupy one space. If there are Stormtrooper tokens already on spaces in front of the Rebel Strike Team token, place additional Stormtrooper tokens on the first available spaces in front of the Rebel Strike Team token.


6. Can you clarify how the Rebel fleet markers work and how they are destroyed?

The Rebel fleet markers are how the Rebel player reinforces their fleet. While X-, Y-, or B-wings are on Rebel fleet markers, they can be moved into the sector directly in front of the fleet marker on one of their respective orders.

The Empire can directly attack the Rebel fleet markers with their Death Star order or by entering the sector directly in front of one of the fleet markers and making an attack on the fleet marker. The Rebel fleet marker is destroyed on a 5 or 6 roll from an attack on an adjacent sector.


7. Can the Empire attack Rebel fleet markers from an adjacent sector with TIE Fighters or the Executor?

Yes. The Empire can attack a Rebel fleet marker from a sector directly in front of it. Here are some examples: if the Empire attacked a Rebel fleet marker that had 5 X-wings on it and rolled a 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, the Empire would destroy 4 X-wings. On a roll of a 5 or 6, the Rebel fleet marker and any Rebel ships on the sector are destroyed, and the Empire would receive a bonus card for clearing a sector. If the Empire destroys all of the X-, Y-, or B-wings on a Rebel fleet marker sector but does not destroy the Rebel fleet marker, the sector is not cleared and the Empire will not receive a bonus card because the Rebel fleet marker is still there.


8. If the Rebel player uses an X-wing order and moves X-wings into a sector that also has X-wings in it, does the Rebel player attack with only the ships she moved? Or can she also attack with the X-wings already in the attacking sector?

The Rebel player can add the X-wings already in that sector to the attack, up to the maximum of 5 dice on the attack.


9. Can the Rebel player still use the Darth Vader Redeemed order after Luke has been defeated?

No. Darth Vader Redeemed can only be used when: a) Darth Vader has 3 or fewer hit points remaining and b) Luke is still alive.
  • [+] Dice rolls
GodRob
United States
Gordonsville
Virginia
flag msg tools
Game over, man. Game over.
badge
May be YOUR a grammer not see
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Malley
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't realize Craig had a hand in this. Some of these don't agree with what what we were told by Hasbro.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Earl
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
#1 and #2 are surprising, contradicting what we've heard so far, but I suppose we're getting it from a more reliable source at this point.

Those two rulings may be enough to make it much more balanced.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Van Ness
United States
Dunellen
NJ
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hopefully the responses will be more accurate going forward.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Smith
United States
Bel Air
MD - Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, some of these are game changing! Good to finally get true clarifications. Thanks.

By the way, in number 8 you meant to say Empire player not Rebel player.

Edit: Ignore that last sentence. I was momentarily insane. I think I'm better now.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Van Ness
United States
Dunellen
NJ
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
jbbnbsmith wrote:

By the way, in number 8 you meant to say Empire player not Rebel player.

Not sure what you mean.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
concord
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
augray wrote:


3. Do the Rebels receive any bonus cards from destroying the Executor?

No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board. However, if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.
I don't quite understand this.
It seems contradictory to me (or something just not quite right).

Shouldn't it be...

augray wrote:
YesNo. if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.

...and then this is the part i don't get.
I mean your destroying BOTH the Executor and the not yet deployed TIE fighters but you still don't receive a bonus card?

augray wrote:
No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
concord
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
augray wrote:
jbbnbsmith wrote:

By the way, in number 8 you meant to say Empire player not Rebel player.

Not sure what you mean.
i think he meant #9
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Smith
United States
Bel Air
MD - Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
augray wrote:
jbbnbsmith wrote:

By the way, in number 8 you meant to say Empire player not Rebel player.

Not sure what you mean.
I'm sorry, I don't know what I was thinking. Somehow when I saw X Wing I was thinking Ties.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Smith
United States
Bel Air
MD - Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chillinwater wrote:
augray wrote:


3. Do the Rebels receive any bonus cards from destroying the Executor?

No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board. However, if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.
I don't quite understand this.
It seems contradictory to me (or something just not quite right).

Shouldn't it be...

augray wrote:
YesNo. if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.

...and then this is the part i don't get.
I mean your destroying BOTH the Executor and the not yet deployed TIE fighters but you still don't receive a bonus card?

augray wrote:
No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board.


I believe the original question related to the fact that the Empire player earns two cards for destroying the Millennium Falcon (in addition to in one card if the sector is also cleared). So in that sense saying "no" makes sense. You do not earn any bonus cards for specifically destroying the Executor, though if your attack clears the sector you would obviously earn a card for that.

The part about destroying all undeployed Ties is simply an explanation as to why bonus cards are not awarded for the Executor; the benefit of destroying those Ties is more than enough reward.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
concord
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I must be brain dead tonight, gonna have to sleep on it lol.

and I was wrong about #9 too. yikes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hooray! Finally, something that will balance out the game!

Especially #1 and #2 are very helpful and make sooooo much sense thematically.

Suddenly, using the death star is a much more viable strategy, potentially creating chains of Death Star attacks that yield enough bonus actions to still be able to maneuver TIEs into defensive positions around the Death Star.

Also, attacking with TIEs upon deploying them is great, as it now makes more sense to move the Executor with loads of its escort fighters to the frontlines.

Need to play soon again and try it out!
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Van Ness
United States
Dunellen
NJ
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
jbbnbsmith wrote:
chillinwater wrote:
augray wrote:


3. Do the Rebels receive any bonus cards from destroying the Executor?

No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board. However, if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.
I don't quite understand this.
It seems contradictory to me (or something just not quite right).

Shouldn't it be...

augray wrote:
YesNo. if the Executor is the last ship in a sector when it is destroyed, the Rebel player would receive a bonus card per the “Bonus Orders” rules.

...and then this is the part i don't get.
I mean your destroying BOTH the Executor and the not yet deployed TIE fighters but you still don't receive a bonus card?

augray wrote:
No. Destroying the Executor only has the added effect of destroying any TIE Fighters that the Empire has not yet deployed to the board.


I believe the original question related to the fact that the Empire player earns two cards for destroying the Millennium Falcon (in addition to in one card if the sector is also cleared). So in that sense saying "no" makes sense. You do not earn any bonus cards for specifically destroying the Executor, though if your attack clears the sector you would obviously earn a card for that.

The part about destroying all undeployed Ties is simply an explanation as to why bonus cards are not awarded for the Executor; the benefit of destroying those Ties is more than enough reward.

Yes, this is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Woah! #7 is HUGE!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Love that, too. Potentially gets players into a really thematic space battle now and puts the Rebels partially into the defensive, forcing them to protect their capital ship assets from fighter attacks (imagine how likely a 5 or 6 is if you roll 5 dice with your fighters!). It may even make sense now to amass some TIEs and move them on the outer rim of the board (that's fastest) towards the Rebel fleet markers.

Needs testing, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gideon Stargrave
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am feeling the need to create a Revised Rulebook that incorporates this new info from Mr. Van Ness. We all know Hasbro's not going to do it!
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
seb seb2
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
augray wrote:



7. Can the Empire attack Rebel fleet markers from an adjacent sector with TIE Fighters or the Executor?

Yes. The Empire can attack a Rebel fleet marker from a sector directly in front of it. Here are some examples: if the Empire attacked a Rebel fleet marker that had 5 X-wings on it and rolled a 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, the Empire would destroy 4 X-wings. On a roll of a 5 or 6, the Rebel fleet marker and any Rebel ships on the sector are destroyed, and the Empire would receive a bonus card for clearing a sector. If the Empire destroys all of the X-, Y-, or B-wings on a Rebel fleet marker sector but does not destroy the Rebel fleet marker, the sector is not cleared and the Empire will not receive a bonus card because the Rebel fleet marker is still there.





i don't understand that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also do not understand how a single tie fighter could take out an entire Rebel Fleet. This doesn't sound right to me.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A single A-Wing takes out a Destroyer in Jedi and Anakin takes out a command ship in Menace.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eekamouse wrote:
A single A-Wing takes out a Destroyer in Jedi and Anakin takes out a command ship in Menace.

But not a rebel fleet with multiple large ships. And not a by a TIE Fighter. And not with 1 out of 3 odds. And not blowing up all nearby small fighters as well (Rebels don't have capital ships that when taken out also take out all fighters.)

Sorry, I have trouble buying this one, from a fluff standpoint. From a gameplay standpoint, I'm not sure it's too easy to get ships to the fleet markers to attack anyway, so it maybe doesn't make a huge difference, I don't know.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each plastic Tie Fighter represents 100 actual.

Just made that up right now.
81 
 Thumb up
0.58
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eekamouse wrote:
Each plastic Tie Fighter represents 100 actual.

Just made that up right now.

Well, if you said 114, then maybe I'd go along... but 100 just isn't enough!
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another thought with the fleet markers - why do they only have 1 hit point, when the Millennium Falcon and Executor have several?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Felkor wrote:
Another thought with the fleet markers - why do they only have 1 hit point, when the Millennium Falcon and Executor have several?

Why does the Death Star only have one hit point? Oh... never mind

Maybe house rule it (just for fun here). If you destroy a fleet marker with Tie Fighters you have to clear out all your Tie Fighters from the sector the attack was made from, since they Kamikaze the fleet ship.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [14] |