Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » General

Subject: Hangarback Walker Origins rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M S
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So the cost is X X and it says HW enters battlefield with X +1/+1 tokens on it. So if I pay 5 mana, does that mean HW is now a 5/5 creature, PLUS I can spend 1 mana for its tap ability for an additional +1/+1 every turn? So if I summon for 5, had one mana left, tapped it for 6/6, next turn tapped 1, and next turn tapped 1, so it becomes 8/8 now?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben MacFarlane
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The cost of XX means that it gets 1 +1/+1 counter for every 2 mana spent on it.

Also, since it does not have haste, you can't use it's tap ability the turn it comes into play (because of "summoning sickness").

So, for example, you could cast it for 4 mana as a 2/2, then as soon as your next turn tap it for its ability, and it becomes a 3/3.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M S
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, for the record, this was in a $4 booster pack! Not a bad pull for a noob.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Digren K
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's about a $15 card, one of the highest valued cards in the set. It has applications in eternal formats (legacy, modern) meaning it won't lose all its value once it rolls out of standard play.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.