Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Warrior Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assaulting a Neutral City rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Ormesher
United Kingdom
Dundee
Dundee (City of)
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 15 of the rulebook it states:

"4. Count Victories: If at least one Noble from both sides is still alive, then each Baron tallies the “+1 Victory” Fate cards that he played."

When attacking a neutral city the opponent will not have one still alive Noble - in fact the opponent will not have a Noble at all. Does this mean that you only count victories if there was a defending Noble and as such victories are essentially useless when attacking a neutral city?

Furelli
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Isaak
United States
Kenmore
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Victories do matter when attacking a neutral city.

If you have not already hit a neutral city with so many casualties that it surrenders, then you compare number of victories. If you have more victories than the neutral city, you have captured it. If you are tied then you failed to capture it but you can remain in the hex. If the neutral city has more victories than your noble, you must retreat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Dean
Australia
Earlwood
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The confusion you have Furelli is that the rule you quote from page 15 is for OPEN FIELD BATTLES...flip over to page 16 and there is a column labeled ASSAULTING A CITY which deals with your concern in the last paragraph.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ormesher
United Kingdom
Dundee
Dundee (City of)
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand what you are all saying and agree that that is the way the rules are meant to work...

HOWEVER

being a bit of a rules lawyer nowhere in the rules is it stated that the rule I highlighted can be ignored. Under the rules for capturing a city via assault it is written:
The attacker may also capture the city by achieving a full or partial victory as described in the “Count Victories” step of resolving open-field battles.
So this tells you to refer to the previous rules (those listed under open-field battles) and the count victories rules specifically say "If at least one Noble from both sides is still alive, then..."

Yes it is implied that if the opponent does not have a Noble in the battle then victories are still counted, but nowhere has this been explicitly stated.

Furelli
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.