Steve
Thailand
flag msg tools
Because of the spotting rule and “observation” rule [such as it is], battles are not fought over hills or high ground. Instead they are fought over little Woods and Towns.

In original PB deploying on a slope or hilltop that is not a Woods is an invitation to being destroyed before your unit gets to fire 1 shot. I have read about many battles fought over a hill, but never once read about fighting over a little woods. Why is PB the opposite?

It is because being on a hill gives you little advantage [just double DF] and being in a ground level Woods gives you no disadvantage. In reality being on a hill [here 2 slopes back to back or a hilltop] lets you see and therefore fire far further, while being on ground level means that you can't really see very far.

I was born and raised in Kansas. I have some experience with so called flat land. Believe me, if someone doesn't want to be seen even Kansas ground is such that you can only see about a mile. So for simplicity we'll just let you see 6 hexes.

Therefore these rules –
1] Units on ground level can see and fire just 6 hexes. Remember other things can also block your view.
. . a] Units on ground level can see and fire 6x3= 18 hexes to the edge of hilltops. Note that the higher unit can see further than the lower unit.
. . b] Units on ground level can see and fire 6x2= 12 hexes to slope hexes. Note that the higher unit can see further than the lower unit.
2] Units on a slope can have a line of sight that is 6x3 = 18 hexes long. They can't fire at hexes that are further than this away or call for indirect fire on them either. They can see the edges of hilltops to 18 hexes. Note that the higher unit can see further than the lower unit.
. . a] Units can not fire over a brown hexside of the unit's hex, except for M-class & (H)-class using indirect fire and/or when firing at an adjacent hex.
. . b] Units can however see over the adjacent brown hexsides because they can send men to look over them.