7 Posts

Dread Pirate» Forums » Variants

Subject: New alternate rules for Dread Pirate - feedback needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] pirate [+] [View All]
Joel Dueck

Minnesota
msg tools
My brother bought this game on Boxing Day, without reading the reviews here first, obviously

But somewhere inside that Groundhog's Day scenario of constantly rolling to see who's higher, there is an interesting game struggling to get out. I've developed a rough draft at some alternative rules that add some new dimensions to battles and raiding, detailed and available for download from my personal website:

http://jdueck.net/article/154/black-spot-rules

I'm new at this, and would like to know if any of you who have had Dread Pirate collecting dust on your shelves since the second time you played it would be willing to take a look and offer your comments.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Di Ponio
United States
Lake Orion
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good Job Joel!

My initial reaction is 'MOST COOL!!!'

I printed these out and will study them more to see if I come up with anything awkward or that may suggest a change.

I have the MASTER AND COMMANDER version and this game just BEGS for something to get it going.

I will review the rules over the weekend and see what I come up with!

-John

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Kennedy
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This certainly sounds more interesting than the real rules. I'm unclear on the desperation gambit and when it can be used. If either player can just declare it at the start of a battle it sounds like it would always be in the interest of a bigger ship to declare it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Dueck

Minnesota
msg tools
thelivekennedy wrote: