The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Monitor and the Merrimack» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Holes Questions Answered rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Douglas S
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hopefully there will be unofficial and official (I emailed Chatham games) answers to the following questions I have about the game:

Ok, here goes....

1. The numbers 1-6 and 1-3 on the ships, does that denote the order in
which you must move them? If so, does it go 1 to 6 or 6 to 1? If not,
can you move your ships in any order you wish?

2. If you spin a 1, can you just rotate your ship and be done with your
move? the same thing that you can do if you decide not to spin? If you
cannot and must move 1, what if you reach the end of the map?

3. If you are just rotating (not moving) a ship while in the shallow
water, do you have to check to see if you have run aground? or is it only when you decide you are going to move that you check if you have run aground? can you get out being run aground without moving?

4. If the Minnesota is disabled, it can still move 1 to 2 spaces? I
would guess it can move towards the tug this way and only when it starts
its turn being attached to a tug must it use the tug's movment as it
tries to flee to safety?

5. Can the sailing ships rotate without spinning like all other ships,
or do they have to spin a 1 in order to either rotate OR move? or is
there some rule in effect until phase 6 of day 1, and then another
regarding this?

6. Which direction do the ships face at startup and the at the start of day 2?

7. Each ship can fire at two targets per turn if they are each on the
either side of it. What happens with the monitor and its two guns? Does
it get 2 shots at 1 target? 2 shots at 2 targets? 1 shot? 1 shot at 2
targets if it is the exact same direction just short range and long
range?

8. Can you move with a 3 like so....rotate, move 1, rotate

9. The shore batterys and the fort-- if ships are on the red
spaces...does each bettery and fort get 1 shot TOTAL for ships in range?
Is it 1 shot per ship in range? or 1 shot total in range, so you have to
pick out which ship you want to fire at from a battery or fort? Do forts
get more shots, etc?

10. Can the Virginia ram and fire in the same turn?

11. Is it true that the ST. Lawrence cannot move until phase 6 of day 1?

12. What if 3 or more union ships are sunk but so is the Merrimack? Is
that a tie?

13. Can ships fire over/through tugboats? In other words, can tugboats
act as a screen by trying to get close to the confederate ships? Also can they block other ship's movement? Do the tugs still come out if both the Minnesota and Roanocke are out of play?

14. for a spin of a 3, can you move the ship 0 to 3 spaces? in other
words, must you move the full spin amount or can you move less than
that or nothing at all?



There you go!

-Douglas
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas S
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rules Holes Questions- Hopefully to be answered soon
Here are the official answers from the author---

Ok, here goes....

1. The numbers 1-6 and 1-3 on the ships, does that denote the order in
which you must move them? If so, does it go 1 to 6 or 6 to 1? If not,
can you move your ships in any order you wish?

This is the order in which each player moves his ships 1 to 6 (though not all ships may be allowed to move in a turn according to the rules).


2. If you spin a 1, can you just rotate your ship and be done with your
move? the same thing that you can do if you decide not to spin? If you
cannot and must move 1, what if you reach the end of the map?

Either is allowed.

3. If you are just rotating (not moving) a ship while in the shallow
water, do you have to check to see if you have run aground? or is it only when you decide you are going to move that you check if you have run aground? can you get out being run aground without moving?

Only when attempting to move from space to space can you run aground.

4. If the Minnesota is disabled, it can still move 1 to 2 spaces? I
would guess it can move towards the tug this way and only when it starts
its turn being attached to a tug must it use the tug's movment as it
tries to flee to safety?

Correct

5. Can the sailing ships rotate without spinning like all other ships,
or do they have to spin a 1 in order to either rotate OR move? or is
there some rule in effect until phase 6 of day 1, and then another
regarding this?

Sailing ships rotate without spinning like all other ships

6. Which direction do the ships face at startup and the at the start of day 2?

This is up to the players

7. Each ship can fire at two targets per turn if they are each on the
either side of it. What happens with the monitor and its two guns? Does
it get 2 shots at 1 target? 2 shots at 2 targets? 1 shot? 1 shot at 2
targets if it is the exact same direction just short range and long
range?

One (1) Shot at One (1) Target

8. Can you move with a 3 like so....rotate, move 1, rotate

Yes

9. The shore batterys and the fort-- if ships are on the red
spaces...does each bettery and fort get 1 shot TOTAL for ships in range?
Is it 1 shot per ship in range? or 1 shot total in range, so you have to
pick out which ship you want to fire at from a battery or fort? Do forts
get more shots, etc?

One Shot Per Battery/Fort at One Target of their choice

10. Can the Virginia ram and fire in the same turn?

No

11. Is it true that the ST. Lawrence cannot move until phase 6 of day 1?

Yes

12. What if 3 or more union ships are sunk but so is the Merrimack? Is
that a tie?

Yes, a draw.

13. Can ships fire over/through tugboats? In other words, can tugboats
act as a screen by trying to get close to the confederate ships? Also can they block other ship's movement? Do the tugs still come out if both the Minnesota and Roanocke are out of play?

Ships can fire over/through tugboats. They are not a screen. If a ship moves to where a tug is on the board, move the tug aside 1 space at tug player's choice if possible. If not possible, tug is removed. Tugs don't come out/are not in the game after the Minnesota and Roanocke are out of play.

14. for a spin of a 3, can you move the ship 0 to 3 spaces? in other
words, must you move the full spin amount or can you move less than
that or nothing at all?

Yes



THE END
2 
 Thumb up
0.30
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Husted
United States
East Hartford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Douglas, thank you for the excellent post. Would you please consider copying your post and making into a file for folks to download.meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.