Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dead of Winter: A Crossroads Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 exiled non-betrayals rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Buchas Buchas
msg tools
Hello,

Tomorrow we are going to try DoW for the first time, we have been reading the rules, and got confused by what happens if 2 non-betrayals get exiled.

The rules say:
1. "If the players vote in favor of exiling a
player, the exiled player must immediately
draw 1 exiled secret objective card."
2. "Important note: If at any time during the game there are 2 exiled
players and neither had a betrayal secret objective, morale
immediately drops to 0."
3. "If the morale track reaches 0 the game ends immediately.
Do not check to see if the main objective has been
completed."
4. "A player cannot reveal his secret objective card
to other players."
5. "If 2 game effects would ever seem to
trigger simultaneously, the first player decides in which
order they will resolve."

Questions:
A. What happens when colonists vote to exile the 2nd non-betrayal, does he get a chance to draw his Exiled Secret Objective Card, and possibly get an auto-complete win, or game ends (suppose betrayal reveals himself instantly after the voting is over, enforcing game end as per 2nd rule) before he gets such a chance?
B. Can betrayal reveal himself instantly in order to end the game, though such an action breaks the 4th rule? If no, how should the 2nd rule be enforced?
C. Should the starting player decide if the 2nd non-betrayal gets a chance to draw objective (as per 5th rule)?

Help please!
can't wait until tomorrow
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L VonMeister
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Buchas wrote:
2. "Important note: If at any time during the game there are 2 exiled
players and neither had a betrayal secret objective, morale
immediately drops to 0."


Looks like this is your answer - "If at any time..."
This trumps any card draw - game is immediately over.
That's how it is written.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matti Mäkäräinen
Finland
Espoo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but before he is an exiled player he needs to (reveal his non-Betrayer card and) draw an Exiled card.

So yes, you get your new objective, but then the game ends without anyone being able to do anything.

[EDIT: Actually, the 5th option does kick in here. So it's up to the beginning player whether you get to draw the card before the game is over or not.]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
“Games give you a chance to excel, and if you're playing in good company you don't even mind if you lose because you had the enjoyment of the company during the course of the game.” ― Gary Gygax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Buchas wrote:
Questions:
A. What happens when colonists vote to exile the 2nd non-betrayal, does he get a chance to draw his Exiled Secret Objective Card, and possibly get an auto-complete win, or game ends (suppose betrayal reveals himself instantly after the voting is over, enforcing game end as per 2nd rule) before he gets such a chance?

Help please!
can't wait until tomorrow


A) Actually, The Exiled non-betrayer reveals their non-betrayer goals as a function of the exile objective card.



So, I would say they do have the new objective and can win if they do meet the requirements.

Quote:
B. Can betrayal reveal himself instantly in order to end the game, though such an action breaks the 4th rule? If no, how should the 2nd rule be enforced?


The morale hits 0. All players then reveal their objectives and the Betrayer can win here. All betrayers have a requirement that the Morale hits 0, so there is no reason the betrayer cannot win in this situation because of the way the game ended. The betrayer does not

All objectives are revealed at the end of the game and the game ends when the main objective is complete when it it is checked at the end of a round, when morale hits 0, or when the round marker hits 0.

The only other time an objective card is revealed is when a non-betrayer is exiled, and that is no longer an active objective.


Quote:
C. Should the starting player decide if the 2nd non-betrayal gets a chance to draw objective (as per 5th rule)?


Moot point, see A.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would argue that one isn't truly exiled until you have an exile card. The game is all about secret agendas, so it would be weird for a game to end without an objective(s) in hand [even though the game concludes with no additional play]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Brandon said. the first thing you do when exiled is to draw the exiled card. After that you would then reveal as a non-betrayer, which triggers end game. Reveal your goals as complete or not at this point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't know whether an Exiled player is a Betrayer or non-Betrayer until they draw the Exile card.
(If they are not the Betrayer, they discard their objective at this point)

So, I agree that they can get lucky and possibly win by their fresh Exiled Objective.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buchas Buchas
msg tools
I didn't know exiled non-betrayal has to reveal. This makes it clear. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xavier A. Perez
Argentina
Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires
CABA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Buchas wrote:
Hello,

Tomorrow we are going to try DoW for the first time, we have been reading the rules, and got confused by what happens if 2 non-betrayals get exiled.

The rules say:
1. "If the players vote in favor of exiling a
player, the exiled player must immediately
draw 1 exiled secret objective card."
2. "Important note: If at any time during the game there are 2 exiled
players and neither had a betrayal secret objective, morale
immediately drops to 0."
3. "If the morale track reaches 0 the game ends immediately.
Do not check to see if the main objective has been
completed."
4. "A player cannot reveal his secret objective card
to other players."
5. "If 2 game effects would ever seem to
trigger simultaneously, the first player decides in which
order they will resolve."

Questions:
A. What happens when colonists vote to exile the 2nd non-betrayal, does he get a chance to draw his Exiled Secret Objective Card, and possibly get an auto-complete win, or game ends (suppose betrayal reveals himself instantly after the voting is over, enforcing game end as per 2nd rule) before he gets such a chance?
B. Can betrayal reveal himself instantly in order to end the game, though such an action breaks the 4th rule? If no, how should the 2nd rule be enforced?
C. Should the starting player decide if the 2nd non-betrayal gets a chance to draw objective (as per 5th rule)?

Help please!
can't wait until tomorrow


A: The Betrayer cannot, under game rules, reveal himself. So the players, and the "game", do not know that they have exiled a second non-betrayer. The Betrayer cannot force the game to end prematurely this way.

B: He cannot, and the rule is enforced by waiting for the Exiled Objective card to be received. Once the exiled player receives his card, if he was not a betrayer, he will be instructed to show his old objective, thus triggering rule 2.

C: No reason to do that, the rules are clear as they are.

The problem is that for it to make sense when reading the rules, you need to know that if the exiled player is not a betrayer, his new objective will ask him to reveal his old objective.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan M
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would also say that you have no idea if someone is the betrayor or not UNTIL the exile card is drawn. It is the exile card which tells you to reveal yourself if you are a non-betrayor. So technically, they must have an exile card first before you find out they are the 2nd non-betrayor thus dropping morale to 0 and losing the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, I think it would have been nice if a couple of the rules for exiling appeared in the rulebook and not just on the exiled objective cards themselves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.