David Somerville
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmb
Hi! I'm working on a dice-placement mountain-climbing game of certain death called Die Trying.

I'd love it if you'd take a look at my rules and let me know what you think! All edits and input welcome!

Rulebook: http://smrvl.com/bgg/dietrying-rules.pdf
PNP files (for context): http://smrvl.com/bgg/dietrying-pnp.pdf

(The only disclaimer I'll add is that I'm a graphic designer by trade, so I intentionally left illustrations/fancy design off the rulesheet so I could focus on the copy. Once the language is clear, I'll add in example illustrations, flavor, art, etc.)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I a hiker? Or am I climber?

How are mountain cards oriented?
* Do I get to pick when I place them?
* Buried in the rules is that I'm moving vertically (4 rows to cross), but not if I get to pick from the 2 possible orientations of that card.

What are those feet symbols on the mountain cards?
* Are those meant to be "trails"?
* Perhaps instead...
** Green Circles
** Blue Squares
** Red Triangles
** Black Diamonds
** "X" events
... and green circles are 'free' movement.

Please explain why in the starting equipment...
1 campfire == 2 picks == 3 ropes
In other words, what strategic/balancing is in this choice?

The word "Rock" is mentioned exactly two times:
* Rock cannot be traversed without equipment. To move your hiker out of it, you must spend a rope or a pick, or burn a die.
* Pick tokens act as free movements. Spend 1 pick by move through a space with any kind of terrain (including rocks events), disregarding their contents and moving your hiker one space in any direction.

Terrains need icons in the rules.