Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Wraiths possess when they counterattack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fredrik Claesson
Sweden
Stockholm
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a Wraith unit makes a counter, can it trigger a possession as normal, and thus switch places with the target unit? This can lead to some really fun situations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Lange
msg tools
Yes. Dice abilities can be used on counterattack unless otherwise stated. It's things like pursue that you can't use on a counterattack because it requires the opportunity to advance which you won't get on a counterattack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. If the Wraith ability said "instead of advancing" then it couldn't be used during a counter, but since it doesn't, it's good So if you are sitting on a VP space, you'd better think twice about whether you really want to attack an adjacent Wraith.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cozzolino
United States
Lebanon
Virginia
flag msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
Agreed. If the Wraith ability said "instead of advancing" then it couldn't be used during a counter, but since it doesn't, it's good So if you are sitting on a VP space, you'd better think twice about whether you really want to attack an adjacent Wraith.

Could you not decide to use your heroic result for its normal effect instead of using it to trigger a special ability, therefore doing nothing? If you roll a retreat/attack you must resolve it, but special abilities you can use the normal action instead. Would this be the same for a heroic result since it has no action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vazzucious wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Agreed. If the Wraith ability said "instead of advancing" then it couldn't be used during a counter, but since it doesn't, it's good So if you are sitting on a VP space, you'd better think twice about whether you really want to attack an adjacent Wraith.

Could you not decide to use your heroic result for its normal effect instead of using it to trigger a special ability, therefore doing nothing? If you roll a retreat/attack you must resolve it, but special abilities you can use the normal action instead. Would this be the same for a heroic result since it has no action?

You are never required to commit dice. The term "commit" has a specific meaning in the game, and is always optional. (Well, almost always. With Panic, committing morale results is mandatory)

So, no, your aren't required to use possess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cozzolino
United States
Lebanon
Virginia
flag msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
vazzucious wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Agreed. If the Wraith ability said "instead of advancing" then it couldn't be used during a counter, but since it doesn't, it's good So if you are sitting on a VP space, you'd better think twice about whether you really want to attack an adjacent Wraith.

Could you not decide to use your heroic result for its normal effect instead of using it to trigger a special ability, therefore doing nothing? If you roll a retreat/attack you must resolve it, but special abilities you can use the normal action instead. Would this be the same for a heroic result since it has no action?

You are never required to commit dice. The term "commit" has a specific meaning in the game, and is always optional. (Well, almost always. With Panic, committing morale results is mandatory)

So, no, your aren't required to use possess.

That's what I thought.
Going back I just noticed your original post was a for attacking a wraith, not attacking with one. That makes more sense as I kept thinking why not attack as you could just not commit the heroic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.