Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Question *SPOILERS* rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan D
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
If you place a Quarantine Token on a city that has three cubes, then draw the city, does the quarantine token stop an outbreak from occurring?

Reason I ask is that the rules specifically state for Quarantine Tokens that they stop you from *Placing* a cube in a city with a quarantine token. The rules for an Outbreak specifically instruct you that if you were to place a cube in a city with three cubes already there, you *Do NOT* place the cube and instead place a cube in each of the connected cities.

Thanks all for the help! The two rules seem to not mesh well with what it would seem the Quarantine tokens are to be used for, and that is to stop the CodA disease from spreading once you can no longer cure it.

~G
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it protects you.

To my understanding, the clause, "if you were to place a cube" implies that it is the last thing to be checked when placing a cube. therefore the quarantine will be checked and resolved first, and then you are no longer trying to add a fourth cube.

I think the wording on outbreaks is just to cut down on fidlliness. In reality you are placing a fourth cube in the city, it's just that it is immediately moved to an adjacent city. It's just easier to say "Add one cube to each adjacent city instead" instead of "Add a cube, but then move it to an adjacent city, then add a cube to each other adjacent city."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Elkins
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I believe that the Quarentine prevents the cube from being placed so the conditions for an outbreak don't occur. This is critical for cities that have three cubes of the CODa-403b virus on them that can't be cured.

If the Quarentine did not prevent an outbreak then there would be literally nothing you could do to prevent it occurring with the untreatable disease. That would not be good game design. As it stands it is vital that you always have a Quarentine token on those cities with thre untreatable diseases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Daviau
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Confirming all the above: Quarantine markers prevent outbreaks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Chapman
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob, does this scenario prevent a city that WOULD have outbroken from outbreaking in that same turn as it usually does when a city can't outbreak twice in a single turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin V

Mount Oliver
Pennsylvania
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you saying in a set up with 3 cities each with 3 cubes and each adjacent to each other but one is quarantined?

A
| \
B_C

If A is quarantined but B outbreaks, A is still going to outbreak.

B outbreaks, removes Quarantine token from A and causes a chain reaction outbreak in C which will now cause a chain reaction outbreak in A.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Agreed.

A Quarantine token prevents one instance of adding cubes to a city. So if you draw that city's card from the bottom of the deck in an Epidemic, Quarantine prevents adding three cubes.

However, in a chain reaction Outbreak, you try to add one cube multiple times, rather than try to add multiple cubes once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
lithy wrote:
Are you saying in a set up with 3 cities each with 3 cubes and each adjacent to each other but one is quarantined?

A
| \
B_C

If A is quarantined but B outbreaks, A is still going to outbreak.

B outbreaks, removes Quarantine token from A and causes a chain reaction outbreak in C which will now cause a chain reaction outbreak in A.

Caveat: if the Quarantine SPecialist is standing in A, A will never lose the Quarantine token, and never outbreak.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Chapman
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lithy wrote:
Are you saying in a set up with 3 cities each with 3 cubes and each adjacent to each other but one is quarantined?

A
| \
B_C

If A is quarantined but B outbreaks, A is still going to outbreak.

B outbreaks, removes Quarantine token from A and causes a chain reaction outbreak in C which will now cause a chain reaction outbreak in A.


This is the unfortunate reality that I thought would be the case. Thanks guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.