The buildings or assistants need to be paid in coins coming from goods value.
Can we pay those coins from goods in hand? I suppose no as the cost of these goods is not displayed on cards...
Those rules are really confusing. I hope Lookout will have a good rewrite. The assistant purchase illustration is also misleading.
Thx for helping.
We also found the rules quite confusing.
The only source of coins is from the face down cards that are stacked on a building. These cards represent the goods produced by that building.
So, for instance, in our three player game we each had seven cards on our starting blue building. The seven cards represented seven parcels of coal. Each coal is worth one coin.
During the building phase, we could remove cards from the coal building to pay for the new building.
Cards in your hand are used either as the resource designated in the center left of the card (sheep, wood, grain, ore) or played as a potential building to be built.