Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

In the Shadow of the Emperor» Forums » Rules

Subject: electors and victory points rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wodan wodan
msg tools
If one of your electors ages out (either naturally or by doctor), and then one of your barons or couples in the same region becomes the new elector the turn that the elector aged out, do you get 2 victory points for the change in power?

If true, using Grey Eminence repeatedly on Mainz and having it become the elector would be insanely powerful, while in general players would frequently doctor their electors after their privelege has been used if they think they can still hold the territory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
admin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wodan46 wrote:
If one of your electors ages out (either naturally or by doctor), and then one of your barons or couples in the same region becomes the new elector the turn that the elector aged out, do you get 2 victory points for the change in power?


yes

Quote:
If true, using Grey Eminence repeatedly on Mainz and having it become the elector would be insanely powerful, while in general players would frequently doctor their electors after their privelege has been used if they think they can still hold the territory.


The baron placed with the Grey Eminence card cannot become an elector
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wodan46 wrote:
If true, using Grey Eminence repeatedly on Mainz and having it become the elector would be insanely powerful, while in general players would frequently doctor their electors after their privelege has been used if they think they can still hold the territory.


You cannot use the doctor to increase the age of your own barons/couples.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wodan wodan
msg tools
thanks for the clarification about replacing a dead elector with another friendly elector and that doctors can't be used to support this.

However, the grey eminence, according to the rulebook , states "This Baron can become either an elector or the emperor".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
wodan46 wrote:
However, the grey eminence, according to the rulebook , states "This Baron can become either an elector or the emperor".


Unfortunately, this is a mistake in the English version of the rules. As clarified in the German rules and the FAQ for the game....The Grey can't become either an elector or the emperor.

FAQ: http://files.boardgamegeek.com/viewfile.php3?fileid=10674
See Page 2, Question 8.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wodan wodan
msg tools
k
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.