Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sniper vs Concealed Stack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Haag
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,

What does it mean to be attacked by a sniper?

A concealed stack of three squads, in a building hex, in the LOS of a Good Order enemy unit, is targeted by a Sniper dr of 1. One squad is randomly selected, breaks and loses concealment.

Do the other two squads lose their concealment?

Thanks,
John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From memory: No.

Also, don't forget to roll one die per SW, with it counting as a dr for its possessor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Brent! Pays to read the early rules (in this case, A.9), as I've not been doing the random selection thing for a concealed support weapon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Roundhill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
WBRP wrote:
From memory: No.

Also, don't forget to roll one die per SW, with it counting as a dr for its possessor.


That does not apply to Sniper attacks, only other Random Selections.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Lowry
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually that is incorrect (ninja'd by Roundhill); the player must state how many eligible targets there, and then the RS is done on that. SW are not rolled for.

It is also worth noting that if you have a mix of concealed and unconcealed units, you first do a RS on the unconcealed units with all the concealed units counting as one choice. If the concealed unit(s) are chosen, you then choose between them with RS.

ASLRB wrote:
14.23 CONCEALED TARGETS: If the eligible possible targets include both concealed and unconcealed units, treat the concealed stack as one possible target (regardless of how many units it actually contains) for Random Selection purposes. Then, if a concealed stack is chosen as the Sniper’s target (either per the above Random Selection or if all units are concealed), the Sniper player’s opponent must declare the number (only) of eligible possible targets that stack contains. If it contains none (i.e., is Dummy stack), it is automatically eliminated. If it contains one, that unit is selected. If it contains two or more, the player rolls for Random Selection accordingly.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gotcha, because the SW is not an eligible possible target, per A14.23.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And don't forget that in these cases the surviving units have the option to fire against the sniper.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per A14.4, Sniper Check. Doesn't come up too often, but then I probably forget to employ this in quite a few circumstances....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Probst
Australia
Glen Waverley
VIC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
And don't forget that in these cases the surviving units have the option to fire against the sniper.


Only if they have not yet moved or fired in this Player Turn. If the stack was concealed they have probably not fired at anyone, but they could easily have already moved.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.